Dusty Heard Them Here First Various Artists (Heard Them Here First)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1381

Dusty Springfield had exceptional taste. Her song choices were always consistently high in quality, and she wasn’t afraid to look to long-forgotten B-sides, demos and album tracks for material. Given her reputation for perfection, it’s no surprise there were so few duds in her catalogue. That so much of it was culled from American soul and R&B artists may be news to many. As Malcolm Baumgart writes in the booklet, “Dusty’s expertise as an interpretive singer prevented her from being viewed as a cover artist,” and it’s hard to believe songs such as ‘Am I the Same Girl?’ and ‘Now That You’re My Baby’ were not written exclusively for the British icon. Britain had a history of pulling from America’s R&B, soul and pop stashes, but whereas groups such as the Beatles, Herman’s Hermits and the Moody Blues gave their American covers a very British slant, Dusty’s interpretations sounded neither overtly British nor American. It all just sounded like Dusty. It’s hard to think of another singer able to so effortlessly and convincingly claim so many top-notch covers as their own.

“Dusty Heard Them Here First” compiles 24 US songs that Dusty covered during her long career. A quick peek at the tracklist reveals her unabashed affection for soul. She wore her love of Motown loud and proud, taking on heavy-hitters such as the Velvelettes’ ‘Needle In A Haystack’, the Miracles’ ‘You’ve Really Got A Hold On Me’ and Marvin Gaye’s ‘Can I Get A Witness’. She also idolised Baby Washington, covering four songs from her repertoire, including ‘Doodlin’’ featured here. Compiler Mick Patrick also notes Dusty’s fondness for songwriters Carole King and Gerry Goffin, writing, “Dusty cut enough numbers from [their] catalogue to fill an entire LP”. The Honey Bees’ original of Goffin and King’s ‘Some Of Your Lovin’’ is a tough one to beat, but Dusty came very, very close. Her decision to cover Norma Tanega’s ‘No Stranger Am I’ was likely due to more than just her interest in the song. Norma and Dusty were dating at the time she recorded this for the B-side of ‘I Close My Eyes And Count To Ten’ in 1968. By the 70s she was tapping Evie Sands and Lesley Gore for material. It’s easy to hear why she selected Lesley’s ‘Love Me By Name’, so powerful and full of feeling. But then again, the same can be said for ‘Turn Me Around’ (Chi Coltrane), ‘Packin’ Up’ (Margie Hendrix), ‘Every Ounce Of Strength’ (Carla Thomas) and practically every single song on “Dusty Heard Them Here First”. This is one of those rare instances when it’s just too tough to choose between original and cover; both are wonderful, you be the judge. 


By Sheila Burgel



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Needle In A Haystack - The Velvelettes

  • 02 Preview Packin' Up - Margie Hendrix

  • 03 Preview Won't Be Long - Aretha Franklin

  • 04 Preview Nothing In The World - Marie Knight

  • 05 Preview Can I Get A Witness - Marvin Gaye

  • 06 Preview Now That You're My Baby - The Chiffons

  • 07 Preview You've Really Got A Hold On Me - The Miracles

  • 08 Preview Doodlin' - Baby Washington

  • 09 Preview Welcome Home - Garnet Mimms

  • 10 Preview Some Of Your Lovin' - The Honey Bees

  • 11 Preview Every Ounce Of Strength - Carla Thomas

  • 12 Preview That Old Sweet Roll (Hi-De-Ho) - The City

  • 13 Preview No Stranger Am I - Norma Tanega

  • 14 Preview Another Night - Dionne Warwick

  • 15 Preview The Magic Garden - The 5th Dimension

  • 16 Preview Girls It Ain't Easy - The Honey Cone

  • 17 Preview Girls Can't Do What The Guys Do - Betty Wright

  • 18 Preview Ain't No Sun Since You've Been Gone - Gladys Knight & The Pips

  • 19 Preview Am I The Same Girl - Barbara Acklin

  • 20 Preview Crumbs Off The Table - The Glass House

  • 21 Preview You Can Do It - Evie Sands

  • 22 Preview Love Me By Name - Lesley Gore

  • 23 Preview Turn Me Around - Chi Coltrane

  • 24 Preview Where Is A Woman To Go? - K.T. Oslin

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


A superb compilation ★★★★

Record Collector

Expertly compiled by Mick Patrick ★★★★



Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought