Boppin' By The Bayou - Flip, Flop & Fly Various Artists (By the Bayou)


Louisiana/New Orleans
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1529

Rare or previously unissued rockers from the vaults of J.D. Miller, Eddie Shuler, Sam Montel, Pappy Daily, Luke Thompson or the artists themselves.

It’s back to boppin’ with this 20th in the “By The Bayou” series, the seventh highlighting the young white rockers from the Gulf Coast area, which runs from New Orleans, Louisiana in the east to Port Arthur, Texas in the west. It was an area dominated by swamps and bayous, where crawfish and rice were farmed, alligators were hunted, fishing was for food and where there was oil to be drilled. All of these occupations had one thing in common: hard physical labour, which bred the need to relax and party at the end of the week, and fulfilling that need were countless clubs and bars in every town, large or small, where music had to be loud to be heard.

All of the artists featured on this CD could tell you tales about these clubs: about the raucous atmosphere, the buzz of playing, owners trying to rook them out of their pay – particularly if it was a cut of the entrance money – and the danger of looking too long at one of the women dancing. The men there were fiercely protective of their women and there were plenty of weapons around. These establishments were the centre of our singers’ and musicians’ existence. When they cut their records they hoped for a hit but the realism was that if you had your name on a record you could command higher pay at your gigs.

All of this background contributes to the distinctive sound of South Louisiana rock’n’roll, whether at the rockabilly end of the spectrum or what would become known as swamp pop. What matters most with this music is not to pigeon-hole it but to lose yourself in its feel – and you have feel a-plenty in this collection, from the raw exuberance of the Tune Tones, a family band comprising three Clement brothers and their brother-in-law, to the mastery of singer/drummer Warren Storm.

The 28 tracks on this CD include a host of previously unissued masters, alternate takes and mega-rare 45s and 78s. Of particular note are the previously unissued distinctly different versions of Al Ferrier’s ‘Blues Stop Knockin’’ and Johnny Jano’s ‘Mabel’s Gone’, Jimmy Newman’s very rare ‘H-Brown Shuffle’ and our stunning title track, the previously unheard version of ‘Flip, Flop & Fly’ by Gene Terry, which demonstrates why Gene was so proud of his band, the Downbeats, and why Eddie Shuler praised him as one of the best artists he ever had on his roster. So grab a glass of something strong, crank up your hi-fi, slip on this CD and get to boppin’!

Ian Saddler 


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Put A Nickel In The Jukebox - Willie Goodson

  • 02 Preview Hole In The Wall - Amos Como & his Tune Toppers

  • 03 Preview Mabel's Gone (Slow version) - Johnny Jano

  • 04 Preview H-Brown Shuffle - Jimmy Newman

  • 05 Preview Kary On Boogie - Doug Kershaw

  • 06 Preview She's My Baby (Take 2) - Johnny Jano

  • 07 Preview Tutti Frutti - The Tune Tones

  • 08 Preview Blues Stop Knocking (Fast version) - Al Ferrier

  • 09 Preview Little Bitty Boy - T.K. Hulin & the Lonely Knights

  • 10 Preview No No - Warren Storm

  • 11 Preview Jambalaya - Joe Carl & the Dukes of Rhythm

  • 12 Preview Baby Don't Go - Andy Charles

  • 13 Preview Gosh Dog Baby - Jay Richards

  • 14 Preview The Snake - Ken Cameron

  • 15 Preview Irene - Rocket Morgan

  • 16 Preview Goin' To Louisiana - Frankie Lowery & the Golden Rockets

  • 17 Preview My Glass Is Empty - Larry Hart

  • 18 Preview Couple In The Car - Little Billy Earl

  • 19 Preview Jail Break - Dean & Gene

  • 20 Preview So Long - Bob Henderson

  • 21 Preview Got Something For You Baby - The Tune Tones

  • 22 Preview I'm Leaving Tomorrow - Peto Marlowe & the Rhythm Kings

  • 23 Preview Little Shyrel - Jay Richards

  • 24 Preview Cotton Candy - Lenny Capello & the Dots

  • 25 Preview Where Did You Stay - Boo

  • 26 Preview Able Miss Gable (Alt take) - Charles Page

  • 27 Preview I'm A Man - Unknown

  • 28 Preview Flip, Flop And Fly (Demo) - Gene Terry

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought