Bluesin' By The Bayou Various Artists (By the Bayou)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1368

Hardly have we savoured the full taste of “Rhythm ’n’ Bluesin’ By The Bayou” than here comes another bucketful of steaming South Louisiana gumbo and this time it’s “Bluesin’ By The Bayou” – a spicy mix of guitars, harmonicas, and even the occasional accordion, accompanying those tales of despair or machismo that are the recipe for the blues.

All the tracks stem from the studios of J.D. Miller in Crowley and Eddie Shuler in Lake Charles. These two men were wonders at spotting talent and getting the best out of the performers, as illustrated on the 28 tracks on this CD.

Half of the songs are heard here for the first time, while the other half have appeared before on obscure 45s or long-deleted reissue LPs. Of the previously unissued numbers, some are alternate takes; they are not included just because they are alternates, but because they have something to offer and deserve to be heard.

The three earlier CDs in the “…By the Bayou” series made you feel like dancing. This collection makes for more reflective listening; maybe you’ll pick a little air guitar along with Lightnin’ Slim et al as you drink in the atmosphere of a juke joint on a steamy Louisiana night.

With blues giants Lightnin’ Slim, Lazy Lester, Slim Harpo and Lonesome Sundown augmented by lesser-known talents such as Silas Hogan, Jimmy Dotson, Joe Rich, Jimmy Anderson and Tal Miller, plus a touch of Zydeco from Clifton Chenier, Boozoo Chavis and Thaddeus Declouet, this is the first CD of its kind to be issued for many a moon.

Europeans took real notice of the blues some 60 years ago when Big Bill Broonzy and Muddy Waters first crossed the Atlantic, but it wasn’t until a band of enthusiasts founded the groundbreaking Blues Unlimited magazine at the start of the 60s that we began to discover just how much of this music was out there and how many obscure records there were to collect. And here we are, 50 years down the line, and still learning. So, whether you are an old-school blueser or new to the genre, there is something here for you

The ongoing joy of sifting through the tapes in the Miller vaults, which provide the backbone of this series, plus the hundreds of tracks already transferred, means that there will be more to come in the “…By The Bayou” series. Who knows what previously undiscovered gems may lie in the next unlabelled box to be opened.

In the meantime, let’s get groovin’ to some downhome blues – pass the jug!


By Ian Saddler 


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Just Give Me A Chance - Silas Hogan

  • 02 Preview That's Alright - Slim Harpo

  • 03 Preview Late In The Evening - Lazy Lester

  • 04 Preview Worried Life Blues - Clifton Chenier

  • 05 Preview Catch The Morning Train - Thaddeus Declouet

  • 06 Preview Big Fat Woman (aka I'm Him) - Lightnin' Slim

  • 07 Preview Dreaming, Dreaming - Joe Rich

  • 08 Preview Oh Baby - Jimmy Dotson

  • 09 Preview They Say The World Loves A Lover - Mr Mojo

  • 10 Preview In The Dark In The Park - Jimmy Anderson

  • 11 Preview Walkin' Out My Door - Blues Boy Dorsey

  • 12 Preview I'm A Natural Born Man - Joe Mayfield

  • 13 Preview Early Morning Blues - Boogie Jake

  • 14 Preview I'm A Real Lover Baby - Honey Boy Allen

  • 15 Preview Forty One Days - Boozoo Chavis

  • 16 Preview Trouble Trouble - Thaddeus Declouet

  • 17 Preview Long Journey (Life's Journey) - Talton Miller

  • 18 Preview Gonna Miss My Lognion - Lefthand Charlie

  • 19 Preview I Ain't Got No Money - Lightnin' Slim

  • 20 Preview I'm A Samplin' Man - Lonesome Sundown

  • 21 Preview I'm Gonna Leave You Baby - Lazy Lester

  • 22 Preview Stranger In Your Town - Lightnin' Slim

  • 23 Preview Sitting Here Wondering - Silas Hogan

  • 24 Preview Lost Love Letter Blues - Leroy Washington

  • 25 Preview Lonesome Lover Blues - Joe Rich

  • 26 Preview I Want You, I Need You - Jimmy Anderson

  • 27 Preview I Can Be On My Way - Sylvester Buckley

  • 28 Preview Slow Walking Fever And The Asiatic Flu - Johnny Sonnier

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought