Boppin' By The Bayou - Rock Me Mama! Various Artists (By the Bayou)


Louisiana/New Orleans
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1443

Time to roll up the carpet and put on your dancing shoes – 28 killer-diller Louisiana tracks.

The eleventh CD in the “By The Bayou” contains some real skirt-swirlers, with a couple of slower numbers slipped in to break up the tempo. In keeping with the other “Boppin’” discs in this series, we have included some pure rockabilly and Cajun tracks alongside the swamp rockers.

This time around we have added to our regular sources – the vaults of J.D. Miller, Eddie Shuler and Floyd Soileau – with a dip into Hack Kennedy’s Big Howdy and Big B labels, plus rare goodies from the Richland logo out of Morgan City, Sho-Biz from New Orleans and even one track from the mighty Mercury.

Our cover shot is of the little-known Richard Bros, whose ‘Gonna Work’ is a defining track. The lyrics might not mention crawfish, gumbo, bayous or Spanish moss, but this slice of primitive rock’n’roll could have come from nowhere but South Louisiana – you can feel the humidity of the wetlands oozing from every riff.

It is pleasing to bring you the Jeff Daniels, Billy Blank, Dayward Penny and Danny tracks thanks to the good offices of Dave Travis who bought the Big Howdy and Big B labels from the original owner Hack Kennedy some years back. I had been looking to lease this material for some time so it was ironic, when I finally tracked down Kennedy’s son, to learn that the ownership was right here in the UK. These tracks needed documenting in the context of Louisiana’s rock’n’roll history. ‘Switch Blade Sam’ is arguably the best-known track on the CD, but the others are a little more obscure.

This CD is here for your enjoyment. It’s all about the sounds bouncing out of your speakers, vibrating the floor and your ears. Put this disc in your player, transport yourself to a little club by the bayou and bop the night away.

Ian Saddler 


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Switch Blade Sam - Jeff Daniels

  • 02 Preview Saw My Baby Walkin' - Al " Puddler'" Harris

  • 03 Preview Gonna Work - Richard Bros

  • 04 Preview Mama Mama Mama Look What Your Little Boy's Done - Warren Storm

  • 05 Preview Rockin' Fever - Joe Carl & The Dukes Of Rhythm

  • 06 Preview Bad Luck - Danny

  • 07 Preview Mickey Lee - Tony Perreau

  • 08 Preview Havin' A Whole Lotta Fun - Johnny Jano

  • 09 Preview Rock Me Mama - Ken Lindsey

  • 10 Preview You Win Again - Al Ferrier

  • 11 Preview Come Back Baby - Dayward Penny

  • 12 Preview She Left Me - Al Ferrier

  • 13 Preview Bayou Boogie - Bennie Fruge

  • 14 Preview Good Morning Blues - Vorris Shorty LeBlanc & All The Sugar Bees (voc. Jay Stutes)

  • 15 Preview Popcorn Blues - Nathan Abshire & The Pine Grove Boys

  • 16 Preview She's Mine, She's Yours - Bennie Fruge

  • 17 Preview You're Happy Now - Little Carol

  • 18 Preview Hard Luck - Billy Blank

  • 19 Preview Uh-Huh-Huh - Jeff Daniels

  • 20 Preview You're Jealous - Jivin' Gene

  • 21 Preview Take Your Choice - Rocket Morgan

  • 22 Preview Stop, Look And Listen - Johnny Jano

  • 23 Preview Boppin' Blues - Erwin Babin

  • 24 Preview Love Me Baby (Kiss Me Baby) - Al Ferrier

  • 25 Preview I'll Be Waiting - Johnnie Allan & The Krazy Kats

  • 26 Preview Sweet Little Girl - Charles Page

  • 27 Preview On The Corner Of The Street - Frankie Lowery

  • 28 Preview Little Girl Next Door - Collay & The Satellites

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes



Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought