Ace Records Sampler Volume 1: Blues and R&B Various Artists (Ace Records Samplers)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHK 1076

This product is also available in these versions:
Ace 30th Birthday Celebration: Blues And R&B (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

For once in our history we are stacking them high and selling them cheap with 4 CDs to give you the flavour of Ace over the past 35 years. Each CD takes on two related genres and rather than deliver all the hits, are here to entertain, amuse and at time surprise with the odd rarity. As the man said when asked what kind of music he liked 'good music' and there is plenty of that with these 80 cuts across 4 CDs.

The blues / R&B set opens with the three of the kings of the Blues Elmore, the Wolf and John Lee, though the current indisputable King of the blues B.B. makes a wonderfully low-key appearance later. By the way, the version of House Rent Boogie here has never been released on CD before. We go down home for a couple of cuts from Drifting Slim and Joe Hill Louis, before heading back up town, going way out west with some cool LA sounds from John Watson and Pee Wee Crayton just two of the great guitarists to be found here. Check the lyric on Big Duke's Hey Dr Kinsey never has an academic report on sexual proclivities been put to music with such deep-felt passion. Young Jessie continues the discussion on Don't Happen No More while Lil Greenwood and Helen Humes are one either side of him with clear opinions on the matter also. Of all people Ike Turner cools things out with a fine rockin' instrumental. The set closes with a beautiful soulful performance from Little Johnny Taylor that we have never issued before.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Hand In Hand - Elmore James

  • 02 Preview Dog Me Around aka How Many More Years - Howling Wolf

  • 03 Preview House Rent Boogie - John Lee Hooker

  • 04 Preview You're An Old Lady - Drifting Slim

  • 05 Preview Boogie In The Park - Joe Hill Louis

  • 06 Preview Too Tired - Johnny "Guitar" Watson

  • 07 Preview Mean Old Frisco - B.B. King

  • 08 Preview Poppa Stoppa - Pee Wee Crayton

  • 09 Preview Root Beer Sizzle Sazzle Sizzle - Three Bits Of Rhythm

  • 10 Preview Going Mad - Saunders King

  • 11 Preview Hey Dr Kinsey - Big Duke Henderson & His Orchestra

  • 12 Preview Central Rocks - The Great Gates

  • 13 Preview Love Me Tonight - Little Willie Littlefield

  • 14 Preview Booted - Rosco Gordon

  • 15 Preview Boogie All Night Long - Lil Greenwood

  • 16 Preview Don't Happen No More - Young Jessie

  • 17 Preview Real Fine Daddy - Helen Humes

  • 18 Preview Twistin' The Strings - Ike Turner

  • 19 Preview The Mess Around - Richard Berry with Jennell Hawkins & The Lockettes

  • 20 Preview Stop Fooling Around - Little Johnny Taylor

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought