Wrap It Up - The Isaac Hayes And David Porter Songbook Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


60s Soul
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1622

Their partnership lasted barely four years and just over 50 songs - but between 1965 and 1969 Isaac Hayes and David Porter penned some of soul’s most enduring anthems of their era, many of which are still being regularly performed and recorded to this day.

Ace are delighted to welcome them into our ever-popular Songwriter Series this month with “Wrap It Up”, a fantastic collection featuring almost half of the total number of songs they wrote together in versions you would expect, and versions you wouldn’t!

Hayes and Porter wrote for almost every major act on the Stax roster, but the commercial appeal of their songs gave them appeal to artists operating outside of the perimeters of soul music. ZZ Top, Peter Frampton, the (Count) Bishops and Charlie Rich are just some of the fine turns you will find here essaying Hayes and Porter copyrights alongside Stax stalwarts such as Johnnie Taylor, Mable John, the Emotions, the Soul Children, Otis Redding and Carla Thomas, and, of course, Sam and Dave whose recordings of their songs were what established Hayes and Porter as a peerless songwriting force in the first place.

As lovingly curated and expertly annotated as you would expect any Ace project in the Songwriter Series to be, “Wrap It Up” is another valuable piece in the great American songwriting jigsaw, and very much a collection where the songs that were not necessarily big hits are easily on a par with those that were. It is a fitting audio tribute to two men who have between them won just about every major award going, from Grammys to election to the Songwriters’ Hall of Fame.

Hold on, they’re coming…

Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Sixty Minutes Of Your Love - Homer Banks

  • 02 Preview As Long As I've Got You - The Emotions

  • 03 Preview B-A-B-Y - Rachel Sweet

  • 04 Preview Can't Trust Your Neighbour - Freddie King

  • 05 Preview May I Baby - Peter Frampton

  • 06 Preview You're Taking Up Another Man's Place - Aretha Franklin

  • 07 Preview Hold On I'm Comin' (single version) - The Righteous Brothers

  • 08 Preview I've Got To Love Somebody's Baby - Peter Gallagher

  • 09 Preview I'll Understand - Edwin Starr & Blinky

  • 10 Preview I Take What I Want - The Bishops

  • 11 Preview I Thank You - Z Z Top

  • 12 Preview My Baby Specializes - Delaney & Bonnie

  • 13 Preview Never Like This Before - Marcia Ball

  • 14 Preview Soul Man - Sam & Dave

  • 15 Preview Left Over Love - Ruby Johnson

  • 16 Preview The Sweeter He Is (Parts 1 & 2) - The Soul Children

  • 17 Preview Toe Hold (unedited version) - Johnnie Taylor

  • 18 Preview When Something Is Wrong With My Baby - Otis Redding & Carla Thomas

  • 19 Preview Wrap It Up - Archie Bell & The Drells

  • 20 Preview You Don't Know Like I Know - Keith Powell & Billie Davis

  • 21 Preview You Got Me Hummin' - The Hassles

  • 22 Preview Your Good Thing (Is About To End) - Mable John

  • 23 Preview Love Is After Me - Charlie Rich

  • 24 Preview I'm Dedicating My Life - Danny White

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought