Where The Girls Are Volume 7 Various Artists (Where The Girls Are)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1218

The Jelly Beans (that’s them on the cover) contribute ‘How Fine Can One Guy Be’, one of the eight previously unissued numbers on Volume 7. Gems by the Fashionettes, Joani Camp, Beverly Williams, the Jaynetts, Brenda Holloway, Claudine Clark and the Satisfactions also debut here. The Teardrops kick off proceedings with the majestic ‘Tears Come Tumbling’, while Baby Jane & the Rockabyes close the show with an outlandish version of the Broadway chestnut ‘Get Me To The Church On Time’. Along the way, the Shirelles deliver a cover of the Playmates’ 1958 hit ‘What Is Love’, the Jewels weigh in with a remake of their earlier B-side ‘Smokie Joe’s’, this time with James Brown at the helm, and Marry (sic) Clayton and Barbara Mason step up to the mike for the first time, launching successful careers that continue to this day. 

By Mick Patrick 


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Tears Come Tumbling - The Teardrops

  • 02 Preview Earthquake - The Fashionettes

  • 03 Preview How Fine Can One Guy Be - The Jelly Beans

  • 04 Preview He's My Boyfriend - Kriss Anderson

  • 05 Preview Trouble Child - Barbara Mason & The Tiffanys

  • 06 Preview Sally Bad - The Utopias

  • 07 Preview His Lips Get In The Way - Joani Camp

  • 08 Preview Too Bad He's Bad - Beverly Williams

  • 09 Preview My Sailor Boy - The Zippers

  • 10 Preview I Found Me A Lover - The Lovelites

  • 11 Preview Is It Love Baby? - The Tandels

  • 12 Preview Cry Behind The Daisies (Demo Version) - The Jaynetts

  • 13 Preview Your Kind Ain't No Good - The Mirettes

  • 14 Preview You're Welcome Back - Ann Hodge

  • 15 Preview Hands Off - The Azaleas

  • 16 Preview Constant Love - Brenda Holloway

  • 17 Preview Smokie Joe's - The Jewels

  • 18 Preview What Is Love? - The Shirelles

  • 19 Preview The Doolang - Andrea Carroll

  • 20 Preview Party Lights (Double-tracked Version) - Claudine Clark

  • 21 Preview Moon Out There - The Puffs

  • 22 Preview The Doorbell Rings - Marry Clayton

  • 23 Preview Where Have All The Boys Gone - The Penny Sisters

  • 24 Preview That Boy Of Mine - The Sparkels

  • 25 Preview Woman In Love (With You) - The Satisfactions

  • 26 Preview Get Me To The Church On Time - Baby Jane & The Rockabyes

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


An excellent 16-track collection. ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought