Where The Girls Are Volume 1 Various Artists (Where The Girls Are)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

The first volume in the series takes us on a tour around the USA. Highlights include the previously unissued ‘Look In My Diary’ by thoseNew Yorkdolls Reparata & the Delrons and ‘Don’t Drop Out’ by teenager Dolly Parton, which sounds like a Shangri-Las B-side that never was. Fans of the Spector sound should dig Noreen Corcoran’s ‘Love Kitten’, the Victorians’ ‘Oh What A Night For Love’, ‘I’m Thru’ by Carolyn Carter and ‘Live And Learn’ by blonde bombshell Joey Heatherton. The collection also features under-used Hot 100 entries from the Charmettes, Baby Jane & the Rockabyes, Patty & the Emblems and Ruby & the Romantics. 

By Mick Patrick 


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Condition Red - The Goodees

  • 02 Preview Look In My Diary - Reparata & the Delrons

  • 03 Preview Don't Drop Out - Dolly Parton

  • 04 Preview Little Things Like That - Suzy Wallis

  • 05 Preview Live And Learn - Joey Heatherton

  • 06 Preview I'm Thru - Carolyn Carter

  • 07 Preview Anything Worth Having (Is Well Worth Waitin' For) - Joan Moody

  • 08 Preview Love Kitten - Noreen Corcoran

  • 09 Preview Oo-Wee Baby - Doris Day

  • 10 Preview Please Don't Kiss Me Again - The Charmettes

  • 11 Preview How Much Is That Doggie In The Window? - Baby Jane & The Rockabyes

  • 12 Preview Your Yah-Yah Is Gone - The Tren-Teens

  • 13 Preview Hula Hoppin' - Idalia Boyd

  • 14 Preview Push A Little Harder - The Avons

  • 15 Preview That Boy Of Mine - The Sherrys

  • 16 Preview Young Girl - Charmaine

  • 17 Preview Sometimes I Wonder - Barbara Brown

  • 18 Preview What Kind Of Girl (Do You Think I Am) - Erma Franklin

  • 19 Preview Mixed-Up, Shook-Up Girl - Patty & The Emblems

  • 20 Preview Who's That Guy - The Kolettes

  • 21 Preview A Friend Of Mine - The Geminis

  • 22 Preview Oh What A Night For Love - The Victorians

  • 23 Preview Hey There Lonely Boy - Ruby & The Romantics

  • 24 Preview Lonely Girl - The Lovettes

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought