Nippon Girls 2 - Japanese Pop, Beat & Rock'n'Roll 1965-1970 Various Artists (Big Beat International)


Big Beat
Catalogue Id:

Because I’ve tried and failed to put it better myself, I’d like to begin by quoting my colleague Alec Palao: “There was a time not so long ago when credibility in pop and rock music came only from success within the American or British marketplace. No matter how accomplished they might be, foreign acts and their attendant music scenes were frequently viewed with condescension, and anything not sung in English deemed a novelty. As the development of rock in other countries during its first two decades comes increasingly into focus, such cultural imperialism has been proved wrong time and again. Even when its practitioners were aping American or UK acts, each country added something of its own identity. There were different levels of energy too. The raucous abandon ofIceland’s Thor’s Hammer or the Antipodean beat groups contrasts with the sophisticated pop oozed by a French chanteuse. In 60s Japan, you got both sides of the coin – sometimes even within the same record.”

We had an inkling it might prove popular with adventurous listeners with a taste for the unusual, but didn’t really expect it to become one of our top sellers of recent years, yet that’s precisely what happened with “Nippon Girls”. With that in mind, we’ve commissioned international girl-pop authority Sheila Burgel to cook up a second helping. As with the first volume, “Nippon Girls 2” is available in CD and 12-inch coloured vinyl formats. Leaving no stone unturned in her quest for groovy sounds, the LP edition includes compelling tracks by Kayoko Ishuu, Reiko Mari, Mari Henmi, Katsuko Kanai, Akiko Wada, Akiko Nakamura, Kemeko Matsudaira, the Peanuts, Kazumi Yasui and Chiyo Okumura, none of whom featured on the first volume. For the record, that’s Chiyo Okumura on the LP cover and another new girl, Kiyoko Ito, on the CD. The CD’s 20-page booklet and the LP’s fold-out jacket are sumptuously illustrated with rare items from former Tokyo resident Sheila’s collection. Sheila also provides the notes, which expertly guide us through our second expedition into the wild and colourful world of female pop from the land of the rising sun. 

By Mick Patrick


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Bazazz No. 1 - Kayoko Ishuu

  • 02 Preview Furi Furi 5 - Linda Yamamoto

  • 03 Preview Saike Na Machi - Reiko Mari

  • 04 Preview Daniel Mon Amour - Mari Henmi

  • 05 Preview Makkana Taiyou - Hibari Misora (with Jackey Yoshikawa & Blue Comets)

  • 06 Preview Mini Mini Girl - Katsuko Kanai

  • 07 Preview Boy & Girl - Akiko Wada

  • 08 Preview Kizudarake No Taiyou - Bay Beats

  • 09 Preview Taiyou Ni Koi Wo Shite - Akiko Nakamura

  • 10 Preview Wild Party - Anne Mari (with Kazuya Nishikawa)

  • 11 Preview Namida No Go Go - Emy Jackson & Blue Comets

  • 12 Preview Yuwakuteki Na Gogo - Ayumi Ishida

  • 13 Preview Ai Ga Hoshii No - Jun Mayuzumi

  • 14 Preview Koi Gurui - Chiyo Okumura

  • 15 Preview Mishiranu Sekai - Kiyoko Ito

  • 16 Preview Waratte Yurushite - Akiko Wada

  • 17 Preview Watashi Ga Kemeko Yo - Kemeko Matsudaira

  • 18 Preview Ore To Kanojo - Pinky & Killers

  • 19 Preview Namida No Mori No Monogatari - Akiko Nakamura

  • 20 Preview Tokyo No Hito - The Peanuts

  • 21 Preview Warui Kuse - Kazumi Yasui

  • 22 Preview Koi No Dorei - Chiyo Okumura

  • 23 Preview Namida No Heart - Emy Jackson & Smashmen

  • 24 Preview Kyoto No Koi - Yuko Nagisa

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


They may be unknowns on these shores but, after a few days in the company ofthis fabulous assembly of idiosyncratic teen-poppers and exotic garage-rockers, and their evocative mutating of Japan's own musical traditions, they become essential characters in a whole new musical world. ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought