Where The Girls Are Volume 6 Various Artists (Where The Girls Are)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1032

While the previous four volumes series focused on individual labels, the sixth edition reverts to the more all-encompassing formula of Volume 1, with 26 tracks drawn from 18 different outlets. All but a handful are new to CD, five of them previously unissued in any form. At one extreme of the sound spectrum is the breathy-voiced Carol Connors, former lead singer of Phil Spector’s Teddy Bears, while at the other is future Ikette Pat Powdrill with a 100 mph version of a Goffin & King classic. Pat’s backing group was named the Powerdrills. Hear ‘I Can’t Hear You’ and understand why. The Darlettes open the CD with a flourish of sophistication, as you might expect from a track written and produced by Van McCoy. Zap to track 26 to find the Goodees, bold enough to tread where even the Shangri-Las dared not, with a slab of Southern Gothic titled ‘Jilted’. (Dumped at the altar is one thing. Up the duff too is another.) The lavish booklet features a 6,500-word track commentary, plus the customary array of rare photographs, some of which were supplied by the performers themselves.

By Mick Patrick 



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Lost - The Darlettes

  • 02 Preview (Make It Last) Take Your Time - Barbara Mills

  • 03 Preview Little Baby - Kathy Lynn & the Playboys

  • 04 Preview I Have Feelings Too - Denita James

  • 05 Preview Hang It Up - Joy Dawn

  • 06 Preview The Greatest - The Percells

  • 07 Preview He's My Special Boy - Kathy Lynn & the Playboys

  • 08 Preview Walkin' My Baby - Sue Thompson

  • 09 Preview Walk Tall Like A Man - 2 Of Clubs

  • 10 Preview No More Tears - The Sweethearts

  • 11 Preview Sugar Plum (Give Me Some) - Little Eva Harris

  • 12 Preview Cupid's Got A Hold On Me - The Belles

  • 13 Preview Yes I Know - The Ladybirds

  • 14 Preview Whoa Whoa Baby Take It Slow - Tutti Hill

  • 15 Preview Every Boy And Every Girl - The Chiffons

  • 16 Preview I'm Not Gonna Worry ('Cause I Know He's Mine) - The Cinnamons

  • 17 Preview That's No Way To Spend My Time - The Pen Etts

  • 18 Preview My Imaginary Guy - Deanie Parker & the Valadors

  • 19 Preview Big Time Operator - Joan Moody

  • 20 Preview Captured By Your Love - Felice Taylor

  • 21 Preview He's So Fine - Beverly Warren

  • 22 Preview Lonely Little Beach Girl - Carol Connors

  • 23 Preview He Belongs To Me - Carol Connors

  • 24 Preview Why Do Lovers Break Each Other's Heart? - Reparata

  • 25 Preview I Can't Hear You (No More Baby) - Pat Powdrill

  • 26 Preview Jilted - The Goodees

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought