Early Girls Volume 5 Various Artists (Early Girls)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1181

The “Early Girls” series usually explores the girl/girl group genre through selections taken from Billboard’s Hot 100 chart in the years between 1954-1963, perceived to be the Golden Age of American Popular Music. On this volume, we have added an extra dimension by including a number of entries from Billboard’s Bubbling Under chart woven in with hit records from the Hot 100 proper, to create a very interesting snapshot of the times.

Launched in June 1959, the Bubbling Under chart comprised records nestling just outside the Top 100, tunes that were poised either to make further upward progress or fade quietly away having failed to do the business. In any event, they were usually regional hits, having made it thus far by virtue of strong airplay and sales in particular cities or states.

Trevor Churchill and I have gone to some lengths to bring you those missing links from the chart pantheon of yesteryear and 13 of the titles on Volume 5 are new to CD with three (by the Chantels, Janie Black and Patty Lace) being released in stereo for the first time. Among the many items of interest are Richie by Gloria Dennis, a regional chartmaker from ’62 written and produced by Ted Daryll and Greg Richards who penned Jay & the Americans’ first hit, She Cried, that same year, (Dear Mr DJ) Play It Again by Tina Robin, an early King-Goffin production that tickled the charts in 1961 when pop music was just beginning to look back on itself, Janie Black’s rather precocious Lonely Sixteen, and a cover version of the Shirelles’ first Scepter hit, Tonight’s The Night by the Chiffons, a record that throws up more questions than answers. These were not the He’s So Fine group, but three LA schoolkids hired to warble over an alternative take of the Shirelles backing track for a one-shot label operating from an accommodation address in a Californian suburb. The facsimile proved quite successful, making #76 on the Big Deal label. Some surmise that Scepter, a New York label, covered their own hit as a feint to discourage cover versions on the West Coast!

“Early Girls Volume 5” features fewer pre-rock mamas than on the previous two volumes and more of the glittering teen goddesses of the Brill Building era. There’s some eye grabbing cover art, fully comprehensive notes and treasure trove of rare pics, all of which make it a fitting bookend to Volume 1 in this engaging series.

By Rob Finnis


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview It Hurts To Be Sixteen - Andrea Carroll

  • 02 Preview Baby, Baby (I Still Love You) - The Cinderellas

  • 03 Preview Don't Just Stand There - Patty Duke

  • 04 Preview Blue Summer - The Royalettes

  • 05 Preview Dusty - The Rag Dolls

  • 06 Preview Joey Baby - Anita & th' So-And-So's

  • 07 Preview Don't Mention My Name - The Shepherd Sisters

  • 08 Preview Donnie - The Bermudas

  • 09 Preview Just One Look - Doris Troy

  • 10 Preview Broken Hearted Melody - Sarah Vaughan

  • 11 Preview All I Want To Do Is Run - The Elektras

  • 12 Preview Sneaky Sue - Patty Lace & the Petticoats

  • 13 Preview Richie - Gloria Dennis

  • 14 Preview Poor Little Puppet - Cathy Carroll

  • 15 Preview Lonely Sixteen - Janie Black

  • 16 Preview Jimmy Boy - Carol Shaw

  • 17 Preview Be My Boy - The Paris Sisters

  • 18 Preview Kookie Little Paradise - Jo Ann Campbell

  • 19 Preview Sparkle And Shine - The Four Coquettes

  • 20 Preview Paper Tiger - Sue Thompson

  • 21 Preview Eternally - The Chantels

  • 22 Preview Navy Blue - Diane Renay

  • 23 Preview What Makes Little Girls Cry - The Victorians

  • 24 Preview PS I Love You - The Starlets

  • 25 Preview Without Your Love - Wendy Hill

  • 26 Preview Dancin' The Strand - Maureen Gray

  • 27 Preview Tonight's The Night - The Chiffons

  • 28 Preview Play It Again - Tina Robin

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought