Vanguard Newport Festival Sampler Various Artists (Vanguard)


Catalogue Id:
VMD 74003

Any sampler worth its salt should leave the listener wanting to investigate further, and this introduction to the riches of Vanguard’s “Newport Folk Festival” set of albums does the job admirably. With one 13-track selection, it shows the quality and diversity of the music as it was presented at Newport from the first festival in 1959. The festival was founded under the guidance of a board of directors that originally included Theodore Bikel, Pete Seeger, Oscar Brand, Albert Grossman and George Wein, the latter having been the driving force of the well-established Newport Jazz Festival. The new festival arrived at a time when folk music was achieving mainstream popularity and much political relevance during the Cold War. It was a time when folk was seen as a very accessible musical form to play, sing along to or simply as a social unifier. The Newport Folk Festival was an annual event from 1959 through most of the 60s until it took a break from 1971 to 1985, when it successfully revived in a broader musical format. This sampler features music from the years up to the mid-60s, when it was at its most influential.

Johnny Cash’s ‘Big River’ makes a solid starting point and is followed by the Kingston Trio, the Staple Singers and Judy Collins, all cresting their particular waves of popularity. We then dip into bluegrass with the Stanley Brothers, blues with John Lee Hooker and Muddy Waters and the folk music that lay at the heart of the festival with tracks from the New Lost City Ramblers, Doc Watson and Pete Seeger, whose version of ‘It Takes A Worried Man’ is an indicator of how solidly the crowd was behind him. As if this wasn’t enough to show the diversity, we can enjoy some Nashville links with Roy Acuff & His Smoky Mountain Boys, the West Coast-based Kentucky Colonels and the wonderful duo of Joan Baez and Donovan on the latter’s song ‘Colours’. By the time this duet happened, Joan Baez was an established star, owing much of her initial success to her early appearances atNewport, so her linking with Donovan was very much an endorsement of his recent arrival on the folk scene.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Big River - Johnny Cash

  • 02 Preview When The Saints Go Marching In - The Kingston Trio

  • 03 Preview Pray On My Child - The Staple Singers

  • 04 Preview Turn, Turn, Turn - Judy Collins

  • 05 Preview How Mountain Girls Can Love - The Stanley Brothers

  • 06 Preview Hobo Blues (Dusty Road) - John Lee Hooker

  • 07 Preview It Takes A Worried Man - Pete Seeger

  • 08 Preview Gold Watch And Chain - The New Lost City Ramblers

  • 09 Preview I Can't Be Satisfied - Muddy Waters

  • 10 Preview Colours - Joan Baez

  • 11 Preview Steel Guitar Chimes - Roy Acuff And His Smoky Mountain Boys

  • 12 Preview Get Down On Your Knees And Pray - The Kentucky Colonels

  • 13 Preview Beaumont Rag - The Kentucky Colonels

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought