Thom Bell - Didn't I Blow Your Mind? The Sound Of Philadelphia Soul 1969 - 1983 Various Artists


Philadelphia Soul
Catalogue Id:

Thom Bell, along with Kenny Gamble and Leon Huff, was part of the holy trinity of Philly soul. Reaching an apogee in the early to mid-70s with records for the Delfonics (‘Didn’t I Blow Your Mind This Time’), Stylistics (‘Betcha By Golly, Wow’), the Detroit Spinners (‘The Rubberband Man’), and Dionne Warwick (‘Then Came You’), Bell was the classically trained arranger who introduced the celeste, the French horn and the harpsichord to soul music.

This is the sequel to “Ready Or Not”, Ace’s first acclaimed compilation of the late Thom Bell’s productions and arrangements. Put together by Saint Etienne’s Bob Stanley, “Didn’t I Blow Your Mind?” combines some of Bell’s biggest and best loved 70s hits with rarities and 80s quiet storm classics such as Deniece Williams’ ‘Silly’ and Phyllis Hyman’s seductive ‘Let Somebody Love You’. Elton John lines up alongside soul legends like Lou Rawls and Eloise Laws.

This collection will appeal to Northern Soul collectors as well as pulling in lovers of smooth 70s and 80s soul. Bob Stanley’s sleeve-notes – with a rare interview with Bell himself - and a wealth of rare photos are icing on the cake.

Bell’s unique and instantly identifiable Philly sound has proved timeless.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Didn't I (Blow Your Mind This Time) - The Delfonics

  • 02 Preview You Gotta Be A Lady - The Chargers

  • 03 Preview The Rubberband Man - Spinners

  • 04 Preview Got You Into My Life - Eloise Laws

  • 05 Preview You Are Everything - The Stylistics

  • 06 Preview Give In To Love - Ronnie Dyson

  • 07 Preview Nice And Slow - Elton John

  • 08 Preview Take My Hand - New York City

  • 09 Preview Silly - Deniece Williams

  • 10 Preview Then Came You - Dionne Warwick & Spinners

  • 11 Preview Will You Kiss Me One More Time - Lou Rawls

  • 12 Preview Lazy Susan - Little Anthony & The Imperials

  • 13 Preview Betcha By Golly, Wow - The Stylistics

  • 14 Preview Joe - Nancy Wilson

  • 15 Preview Loving You - Losing You - Johnny Mathis

  • 16 Preview Walking Around In Teardrops - Jerry Butler

  • 17 Preview Nobody Knows It - Bell & James

  • 18 Preview Let Somebody Love Me - Phyllis Hyman

  • 19 Preview One In a Million (Guy) - Dee Dee Bridgewater

  • 20 Preview Brandy - The O'Jays

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Customers who bought this item also bought