Ready Or Not - Thom Bell's Philly Soul Arrangements & Productions 1965-1978 Various Artists (Producer Series)


Philadelphia Soul
Catalogue Id:

Along with Kenny Gamble and Leon Huff, Thom Bell was one of the three people responsible for The Sound Of Philadelphia, a lush, orchestrated take on soul music that dominated the charts in the early to mid-70s. Using the most unusual instrumentation – harpsichords, French horns, sitars – Bell’s arrangements built the careers of the Delfonics and the Stylistics, and reinvented acts as varied as the Spinners, Dionne Warwick and Johnny Mathis.

The distinctive sound of a Thom Bell arrangement is largely down to an upbringing devoid of R&B. Growing up in a middle-class Philadelphia household, he was playing piano, drums and flugelhorn by the time he was nine. “We didn’t have any radio or anything, we were trained classical musicians,” says Bell. “From when I was five ’til I was 17, I studied two or three hours a day. First thing I heard on the radio was Little Anthony & the Imperials’ ‘Tears On My Pillow’. I thought, What kind of music is this? This is nice music!”

He became a singer in a duo with Kenny Gamble. A year later the duo expanded to a five-piece, Kenny Gamble & the Romeos, and started to pick up work as session musicians at Philadelphia’s hot Cameo and Parkway labels. It was another Little Anthony & the Imperials hit, ‘I’m On The Outside (Looking In)’, that inspired him in 1964. “[Writer and producer] Teddy Randazzo, he was my leader – ‘Outside Looking In’, ‘Hurt So Bad’ … now we’re talking. I never got to meet Teddy Randazzo, and I’m sorry about that. Randazzo and Bacharach, those were my leaders. They tuned me in to what I was listening to in a more modernistic way.”

Cameo-Parkway eventually gave Gamble, Bell and Leon Huff (Bell’s replacement in the Romeos) more of a free hand, resulting in some beautiful 45s for Eddie Holman, the Orlons, Dee Dee Sharp and the Delfonics that helped to foment the lush, atmospheric Philadelphia sound. When the label folded in 1967, Bell took the Delfonics with him, and when the group moved on a few years later, he began to work with the Stylistics and then the Spinners, creating even bigger hits. Throughout these years, he kept a close-knit team around him, and the lyricist he worked with the most was Linda Creed. They worked together for nine years – when she died in 1986, aged 37, he was at her side.

As a writer, producer and arranger, Thom Bell’s originality and the quality of his work deserves the same acclaim as that heaped on Nile Rodgers or Burt Bacharach. He prefers to stay in the shadows, though, and over the years has allowed Gamble and Huff to take the Philly soul limelight. Still, when he talks about his work, there’s an acknowledgment of lucky breaks but there is no false modesty. “Some people were like ‘Are all these strings necessary, why don’t you make regular R&B?’ Because I’m not R&B. I make music. Nobody else is in my brain but me, which is why some of the things I think about are crazy – I hear oboes, and bassoons, and English horns. But I’m lucky, I cross styles. I was enthusiated. Not enthused, enthusiated. I had my own language, and I was able to do what I wanted to do.”



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Here I Go Again - Archie Bell & The Drells

  • 02 Preview I Can't Take It - The Orlons

  • 03 Preview You've Been Untrue - The Delfonics

  • 04 Preview Look The Other Way - Lesley Gore

  • 05 Preview Tick-Tock - Connie Stevens

  • 06 Preview What I See - Three Degrees

  • 07 Preview Moody Woman - Jerry Butler

  • 08 Preview What Kind Of Lady - Dee Dee Sharp

  • 09 Preview Ready Or Not Here I Come (Can't Hide From Love) - The Delfonics

  • 10 Preview I Wanna Be A Free Girl - Dusty Springfield

  • 11 Preview It's The Same Old Love - The Courtship

  • 12 Preview People Make The World Go Round (Single edit) - The Stylistics

  • 13 Preview Back Stabbers - The O'Jays

  • 14 Preview One Man Band (Plays All Alone) - Ronnie Dyson

  • 15 Preview Do You Remember Yesterday - The Intruders

  • 16 Preview I'm Doin' Fine Now - New York City

  • 17 Preview Life Is A Song Worth Singing (Album version) - Johnny Mathis

  • 18 Preview Something For Nothing - MFSB featuring Thom Bell

  • 19 Preview Could It Be I'm Falling In Love - The Spinners

  • 20 Preview You Make Me Feel Brand New (Album version) - The Stylistics

  • 21 Preview Close The Door (Single edit) - Teddy Pendergrass

  • 22 Preview It's Gonna Take A Miracle - Laura Nyro & Labelle

  • 23 Preview Track Of The Cat (Album version) - Dionne Warwick

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


“All tracks are marked by the lustrous, lighter-than-air delicacy and a refusal to be weighed down by pop music convention that is a Thom Bell trademark.” The Philadelphia Inquirer

"sumptuous" Shindig ★★★★ 

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought