Mr Success: The Bert Berns Story Vol 2 - 1964-67 Various Artists (Producer Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1251

Finally! A reason to remove Ace’s 2008 “Twist & Shout: The Bert Berns Story, Volume 1, 1960-1964” from my CD changer!

That formidable set covered Berns’ ascendancy to the forefront of Tin Pan Alley. “Mr Success: The Bert Berns Story, Volume 2, 1964-1967”, showcases the years when he bestrode New York’s studio scene like a colossus, running his own successful labels, punching the clock as a producer and penning classic tunes with a who’s-who of collaborators.

Nestled among 26 sterling tracks (eight debuting to CD) are classics by Berns stalwarts Garnet Mimms, Freddie Scott and Solomon Burke and rarities from icons Ben E King, Barbara Lewis, Patti LaBelle & the Bluebelles and Otis Redding.

Want hits? Try the McCoys’ ‘Hang On Sloopy’, complete with the seldom-heard third verse, or Van Morrison’s signature, ‘Brown Eyed Girl’, in its original 45 radio edit, which protected our virginal 1967 sensibilities from that salacious “making love in the green grass” lyric. Few would disagree that Erma Franklin’s original ‘Piece Of My Heart’ should have been the hit. Tami Lynn’s classic eventual-hit ‘I’m Gonna Run Away From You’ sets the bar high as lead-off track.

Want stars? Well, here’s Tammy Montgomery’s final recording before she decamped to Motown as Tammi Terrell. A subdued Wilson Pickett offers a rarity from his pre-Wicked reign of terror and the Drifters break hearts with the aching ‘I Don’t Want To Go On Without You’. Little-known R&B journeyman Bobby Harris channels Sam Cooke on the title track.

Wanna dance? Opportunities abound as Kenny Hamber (abetted by the ubiquitous Sweet Inspirations) acts the funky drill sergeant on the sensational ‘Show Me Your Monkey’. And try not doing the Sloopy to Roy C’s should-have-been-huge ‘Gone Gone’.

Berns’ penchant for Latin rhythms is woven throughout the proceedings like a rose between the teeth, nowhere more irresistibly than on Larry Hale’s ‘In Front Of Her House’. The over-the-top ‘Run Mascara’ by Bert’s beloved Exciters feels like the soundtrack to a bullfight and, on one of several UK excursions, Berns managed to make Irish band Moses K and the Prophets sound like they were born on the baion.

The hallmark of any great compilation (and every Ace one) is that unfamiliar song that immediately enters your pantheon. Rest assured I’ll be wearing out ‘You May Be Holding My Baby’, a slice of stately soul by the Pussycats. But I suspect that listeners first encountering Lorraine Ellison’s impassioned ‘Heart Be Still’ will be astounded by the gospel-drenched majesty of this song, which appropriately provides the finale to this journey through the Bert Berns canon.

Berns’ son, Brett, and daughter, Cassie, diligent keepers of his flame, are currently readying a stage musical based on his songs, as well as a book. A recently completed documentary should surface this year and, if justice serves, nominee Berns will be inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

So enjoy “Mr. Success”, the perfect kick-off to what we expect to be the Year of Bert Berns.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I'm Gonna Run Away From You - Tami Lynn

  • 02 Preview Everybody Needs Somebody To Love - Solomon Burke

  • 03 Preview Come Home Baby - Wilson Pickett

  • 04 Preview It Was Easier To Hurt Her - Garnet Mimms

  • 05 Preview Hang On Sloopy (Unedited Version) - The McCoys

  • 06 Preview If I Would Marry You - Tammy Montgomery

  • 07 Preview Come On Girl - The Knight Brothers

  • 08 Preview In Front Of Her House - Larry Hale

  • 09 Preview I Don't Want To Go On Without You - The Drifters

  • 10 Preview Show Me Your Monkey - Kenny Hamber

  • 11 Preview Cry No More - Ben E King

  • 12 Preview Run Mascara - The Exciters

  • 13 Preview You'll Never Leave Her - Pat Embers

  • 14 Preview You May Be Holding My Baby - The Pussycats

  • 15 Preview I Went Out With My Baby Tonight - Moses K & The Prophets

  • 16 Preview You Forgot How To Love - Patti LaBelle & The Blue Belles

  • 17 Preview I'll Take Good Care Of You - Garnet Mimms

  • 18 Preview Better Not Believe Him aka Sorrow - Barbara Lewis

  • 19 Preview Mr Success - Bobby Harris

  • 20 Preview Gone Gone - Roy C

  • 21 Preview No One Could Ever Love You - Freddie Scott

  • 22 Preview Mojo Mama - Don Varner

  • 23 Preview Brown Eyed Girl (Radio Edit) - Van Morrison

  • 24 Preview Piece Of My Heart - Erma Franklin

  • 25 Preview I Got To Go Back (And Watch That Little Girl Dance) aka Look At That Girl (Take 1) - Otis Redding

  • 26 Preview Heart Be Still - Lorraine Ellison

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Awesome second helping. ★★★★


What a killer compilation this is. Go get! ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought