The Golden Age Of American Rock 'n' Roll:Special Country Edition Various Artists (Golden Age Of American Rock and Roll)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

The Golden Age of American Rock'n'Roll was also the Golden Age of Country Music. The 30 titles on this special edition of The Golden Age of American Rock'n'Roll were major Country hits which also reached the US Hot 100 Pop chart between 1956-65, becoming part of mainstream American culture, and collectively forming a body of work as valid and enduring as any in our main series.

The cultural changes which affected all forms of popular music in the mid-1950s, inevitably influenced the course of country music which rapidly moved away from the cotton patch ?îhillbilly' sounds of the late 40s and early 50s towards more sophisticated productions, reflecting the tastes, desires, sorrows and ambitions of blue collar folk living in town and country. Unlike modern country stars who are subject to the same principles of rapid turnover as their pop counterparts, the country stars of yesteryear were renowned for the longevity of their careers. Once established, they seemed immune to the fickle whims of time and fashion and were guaranteed a following for life, even though some were relatively mature men and women to begin with. Years were lopped off birth dates-.-toupees were de rigueur for the follically challenged male artists and booze, adultery, hypocrisy, suffering and greed marked the patterns of their lives as readily as it informed the songs they sang. It was these human frailties that endeared them to their fans and in their day they brought pleasure to millions.

Tracks featured include standards such as He'll Have To Go, Oh Lonesome Me, Ring Of Fire, Walk On By and King Of The Road, cult classics, such as Flowers On The Wall, Don't Let Me Cross Over, and Six Days On The Road, and influential trailblazers like Ray Price's Crazy Arms and Detroit City by Bobby Bare. These mega-hits, and others like them, provided now-household names like Johnny Cash, Jim Reeves and Patsy Cline with a springboard to enduring stardom. In common with all GAARR packages, this Special Country Edition comes with a lavishly illustrated 24-page booklet with detailed annotation by Rob Finnis. It's a beauty.

Aside from thousands of regular "Golden Age" fans, this Special Edition is sure to appeal to many of you out there who want just one discerning selection of Country classics in their collections, as well as country diehards who will welcome an opportunity to acquire 30 of their favourite records - beautifully sequenced and mastered - in the same place, at the same time!

By Crawford Anderson


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview White Lightning - George Jones

  • 02 Preview You're The Reason - Bobby Edwards

  • 03 Preview Detroit City - Bobby Bare

  • 04 Preview Abilene - George Hamilton IV

  • 05 Preview El Paso - Marty Robbins

  • 06 Preview Please Help Me I'm Falling - Hank Locklin

  • 07 Preview Ring Of Fire - Johnny Cash

  • 08 Preview Big Bad John - Jimmy Dean

  • 09 Preview Walk On By - Leroy Van Dyke

  • 10 Preview Let's Think About Living - Bob Luman

  • 11 Preview I Fall To Pieces - Patsy Cline

  • 12 Preview Crazy Arms - Ray Price

  • 13 Preview Don't Let Me Cross Over - Carl Butler

  • 14 Preview Still - Bill Anderson

  • 15 Preview Oh Lonesome Me - Don Gibson

  • 16 Preview Wolverton Mountain - Claude King

  • 17 Preview Right Or Wrong - Wanda Jackson

  • 18 Preview He'll Have To Go - Jim Reeves

  • 19 Preview I Ain't Never - Webb Pierce

  • 20 Preview The Battle Of New Orleans - Johnny Horton

  • 21 Preview Waterloo - Stonewall Jackson

  • 22 Preview Hello Walls - Faron Young

  • 23 Preview From A Jack To A King - Ned Miller

  • 24 Preview A Little Bitty Tear - Burl Ives

  • 25 Preview Flowers On The Wall - The Statler Brothers

  • 26 Preview Alabam - Cowboy Copas

  • 27 Preview Gone - Ferlin Husky

  • 28 Preview Gonna Find Me A Bluebird - Marvin Rainwater

  • 29 Preview Six Days On The Road - Dave Dudley

  • 30 Preview King Of The Road - Roger Miller

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


It's a delight to have all of these recordings on one CD; great singers. Great songs, and enduring sentiments that can be relived time and time again.

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought