Choctaw Ridge - New Fables of The American South 1968-1973 Various Artists (Saint Etienne)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1585

This product is also available in these versions:
Choctaw Ridge - New Fables of The American South 1968-1973, LP (£30.98)

“Choctaw Ridge” explores a new country sound, one that emerged at the end of the 60s in the wake of Bobbie Gentry’s ‘Ode To Billie Joe’, a shock number one hit in 1967. When singers like Gentry, Jimmy Webb, Michael Nesmith and Lee Hazlewood moved from the south to Los Angeles to make it in the music business, they were not part of the Nashville in-crowd and they forged a new direction.

'Ode To Billie Joe’ was the tip of the iceberg, and its success helped a bunch of singers and storytellers to emerge over the next three or four years. Some of the tracks on this collection bear that song’s stamp more clearly than others: Sammi Smith’s moody ‘Saunders’ Ferry Lane’ had a similar mystery lyric, and Henson Cargill’s ‘Four Shades Of Love’ is a portmanteau, with one (or possibly two) of the theoretically romantic situations ending in death. 

Suddenly, character sketches of southerners became a lot more rounded – women didn’t have to stay home, or take abuse at the office, and darkness wasn’t only found at the bottom of a bottle. Storytelling is the link between all of the songs on this collection. We have cautionary tales about what could happen to someone who heads for the bright lights and doesn’t make it, ending up in the grasping hands of ‘Mr Walker’ (Billie Joe Spears), or on the ‘Back Side Of Dallas’ (Jeannie C Reilly), or on a mortuary slab in the case of the songwriter with the ‘Fabulous Body And Smile’ (Robert Charles Griggs). And there are stories about wanting to go home – Nat Stuckey’s ‘What Am I Doing In LA?’ and Charlie Rich’s ‘Feel Like Going Home’ – and others from Ed Bruce and Lee Hazlewood, who know that their home isn’t home anymore. 

The tracklist and fulsome sleeve notes have been put together by Bob Stanley (Saint Etienne) and Martin Green (Smashing, The Sound Gallery), who have been collecting these records for decades.

The voices are resonant and relatable, and the productions take in the best of what pop had to offer in the late 60s and early 70s. Before the factionalism between smooth pop-conscious Nashville and the hedonistic ‘outlaws’ made it look inward again, this was a golden era for an atmospheric, inclusive and progressive country music. It began on the third of June, another sleepy, dusty Delta day. 

Bob Stanley


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview The House Song - Lee Hazlewood

  • 02 Preview If Only She Had Stayed - Chris Gantry

  • 03 Preview Endless Miles Of Highway - Jerry Reed

  • 04 Preview The Back Side Of Dallas - Jeannie C Riley

  • 05 Preview Way Before The Time Of Towns - Hoyt Axton

  • 06 Preview Strawberry Farms - Tom T Hall

  • 07 Preview Down From Dover - Dolly Parton

  • 08 Preview July 12, 1939 - Charlie Rich

  • 09 Preview What Am I Doing In LA? - Nat Stuckey

  • 10 Preview Mr Stanton Don't Believe It - Rob Galbraith

  • 11 Preview Saunders' Ferry Lane - Sammi Smith

  • 12 Preview Four Shades Of Love - Henson Cargill

  • 13 Preview Drivin' Nails In The Wall - Waylon Jennings & The Kimberlys

  • 14 Preview Ruby, Don't Take Your Love To Town - Kenny Rogers & The First Edition

  • 15 Preview Why Can't I Come Home - Ed Bruce

  • 16 Preview Mr Walker, It's All Over - Billie Jo Spears

  • 17 Preview Harlan County - Jim Ford

  • 18 Preview Widow Wimberly - Tony Joe White

  • 19 Preview Belinda (Alt take) - Bobbie Gentry

  • 20 Preview Joanne - Michael Nesmith & The First National Band

  • 21 Preview Mr Jackson's Got Nothing To Do - John Hartford

  • 22 Preview Alone - Lee Hazlewood & Suzi Jane Hokom

  • 23 Preview Fabulous Body And Smile - Sir Robert Charles Griggs

  • 24 Preview I Feel Like Going Home - Charlie Rich

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought