The Golden Age Of American Rock 'n' Roll V6 Various Artists (Golden Age Of American Rock and Roll)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

As the “Golden Age Of American Rock’n’Roll” series progresses it’s noticeable, and most agreeably so, that the booklets increase in size. Bigger booklets allow more text and the stories behind the tracks to be told in more detail, and Volume 6 has some great stories to tell. Who, for example, knew that Bobby “Boris” Pickett of ‘Monster Mash’ fame was a member of the Stompers whose ‘Quarter To Four Stomp’ was a surf-orientated take on the Gary US Bonds “Norfolk” sound? And who knew why the Royal Teens’ career went down the tubes soon after their massive ‘Short Shorts’ hit, or who Ruby of Ronald & Ruby really was? Certainly not the girl pictured promoting the original of ‘Lollipop’ before the Chordettes got hold of it. These stories and many more illuminate the tracks and add greatly to the enjoyment.

There are some fine rockin' inclusions in this volume, including ‘Black Slacks’ from Joe Bennett & the Sparkletones, Jimmy Edwards’ ‘Love Bug Crawl’, Ivan’s ‘Real Wild Child’ and ‘I’m Walkin’’ from the ever-reliable Ricky Nelson, whose work was lifted by the guitar work of Barney Kessel in this instance. There’s also a really greasy sax-led instrumental from Noble “Thin Man” Watts & His Rhythm Sparks with ‘Hard Times (The Slop)’, a fine example of how the “Golden Age” series reaches parts inferior comps never do. Group fans are served well with the Dell-Vikings’ ‘Come Go With Me’, the Elegants’ ‘Little Star’ and the neo-doo wop of ‘Imagination’ from the Quotations. Then there’s ‘Papa-Oom-Mow-Mow’ from the Rivingtons; although the record only just made the Top 50, the song, in barely altered form, went Top 5 soon after as ‘Surfin’ Bird’ by the Trashmen. Credit for the invention of this nonsense number correctly lies with the Rivingtons.

There are several examples of how crudely recorded decks can be really effective. Among these are ‘You’re So Fine’ from the Falcons, ‘Don’t You Just Know It’ from Huey “Piano” Smith & the Clowns and Johnny Ace’s recording of ‘Pledging My Love’, issued posthumously in 1955. Pride of place in the rawness stakes goes to Bunker Hillwith ‘Hide And Seek’, effectively defining the thumpy sound producers Feldman-Goldstein-Gottehrer used so well a few years later as the Strangeloves.

Long-standing influential records come from Clyde McPhatter with ‘Lover Please’, ‘Do You Want To Dance’ by Bobby Freeman and ‘Tall Cool One’ from the Wailers. And there’s even a mystery record in ‘Charlena’ by the Sevilles, who may or may not have been some of the Olympics filling in a couple of hours one day. Someone out there knows. Or not. 


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Shirley - John Fred & The Playboys

  • 02 Preview Come Go With Me - The Dell-Vikings

  • 03 Preview Black Slacks - Joe Bennett & The Sparkletones

  • 04 Preview Lollipop - Ronald & Ruby

  • 05 Preview Ten Commandments Of Love - Harvey & The Moonglows

  • 06 Preview Love Bug Crawl - Jimmy Edwards

  • 07 Preview Do You Want To Dance - Bobby Freeman

  • 08 Preview Hard Times (The Slop) - Noble "Thin Man" Watts & His Rhythm Sparks

  • 09 Preview Imagination - The Quotations

  • 10 Preview I Wonder (If Your Love Will Ever Belong To Me) - The Pentagons

  • 11 Preview At My Front Door - The El Dorados

  • 12 Preview You're So Fine - The Falcons

  • 13 Preview Tall Cool One - The Wailers

  • 14 Preview The Shape I'm In - Johnny Restivo

  • 15 Preview Little Star - The Elegants

  • 16 Preview Lover Please - Clyde McPhatter

  • 17 Preview Charlena - The Sevilles

  • 18 Preview Pledging My Love - Johnny Ace

  • 19 Preview Itchy Twitchy Feeling - Bobby Hendricks

  • 20 Preview Priscilla - Eddie Cooley and the Dimples

  • 21 Preview Hold Back The Tears - The Delacardos

  • 22 Preview You Can Make It If You Try - Gene Allison

  • 23 Preview Real Wild Child - Ivan

  • 24 Preview Quarter To Four Stomp - The Stompers

  • 25 Preview Don't You Just Know It - Huey "Piano" Smith & the Clowns

  • 26 Preview I'm Walking - Ricky Nelson

  • 27 Preview I Love An Angel - Little Bill & The Bluenotes

  • 28 Preview Short Shorts - The Royal Teens

  • 29 Preview Hide And Seek (Part 1) - Bunker Hill

  • 30 Preview Papa-Oom-Mow-Mow - The Rivingtons

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Another strong entry in a series I hope goes on forever.

Now Dig This

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought