Incident At A Free Festival Various Artists (Saint Etienne)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1619

This product is also available in these versions:
Incident At A Free Festival, LP (£30.98)

“Incident At a Free Festival” is a tribute to the mid-afternoon slots at Deeply Vale, Bickershaw, Krumlin, Weeley, and Plumpton – early 70s festivals that don’t get the column inches afforded the Isle of Wight or Glastonbury Fayre, but which would have been rites of passage for thousands of kids. Bands lower down the bill would have been charged with waking up the gentle hippies and appealing to both the greasy bikers and the girls in knee-high boots who wanted to wiggle their hips. And the best way to do that was with volume, riffs and percussion.

Compiled by the venerated Bob Stanley and Pete Wiggs of Saint Etienne, this is the heavier side of the early 70s they summarised on the acclaimed “English Weather” collection. There’s an air of menace and illicit thrills among tracks by Andwella, Stack Waddy and Leaf Hound (whose “Grower of Mushroom” album is worth well over £1,000). Bigger names include the rabble-rousing Edgar Broughton Band and kings of the festival freakout, Hawkwind. They are represented by the rare Ejection single.

For every mystical Tyrannosaurus Rex performance there was something like Atomic Rooster’s Tomorrow Night or Curved Air’s Back Street Luv to capture the spirit of the day and stir the loins of festival goers; the tracks on “Incident At a Free Festival” were inspired by both Chicago’s percussive wig-outs and the Pink Fairies’ anarchic spirit. The sounds were heavy and frequently funky, with a definite scent of danger. Their message was clear and simple: clap your hands, stamp your feet, hold on to your mind.

So, put on your wellies in your living room, drop the needle or fire up the CD player and enjoy.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Chasing Shadows - Deep Purple

  • 02 Preview One Way Glass - Manfred Mann Chapter III

  • 03 Preview Hold Onto Your Mind - Andwella

  • 04 Preview Hot Pants - Alan Parker & Alan Hawkshaw

  • 05 Preview Do It - The Pink Fairies

  • 06 Preview Tomorrow Night - Atomic Rooster

  • 07 Preview Taken All The Good Things - Stray

  • 08 Preview Out Demons Out - Edgar Broughton Band

  • 09 Preview For Mad Men Only - May Blitz

  • 10 Preview Backstreet Luv - Curved Air

  • 11 Preview Ejection - Hawkwind

  • 12 Preview Meat Pies Ave Come But Band's Not Ere Yet - Stackwaddy

  • 13 Preview Lovely Lady Rock - James Hogg

  • 14 Preview Third World - Paladin

  • 15 Preview Taking Some Time On - Barclay James Harvest

  • 16 Preview Ricochet - Jonesy

  • 17 Preview Led Balloon - Steve Gray

  • 18 Preview Big Boobs Boogie - Slowload

  • 19 Preview Freelance Fiend - Leaf Hound

  • 20 Preview Confunktion - Dave Richmond

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought