Dollar Bill Y'All - Spring Records And The First Decade Of Hip Hop Various Artists (BGP Various)


Hip Hop
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Dollar Bill Y'All - Spring Records And The First Decade Of Hip Hop, LP (£23.23)

In 1979, Spring Records released the first hip-hop style rap record ‘King Tim III (Personality Jock)’ by The Fatback Band. The label, initially relegated it to the B-Side, allowed the Sugarhill Gang the breakthrough rap hit with ‘Rapper’s Delight’. Over the next decade, Spring kept dipping their toes in the water, but without any great conviction or mainstream success but were always there to chart hip-hop’s development.

“Dollar Bill Y’All” focuses on all the key moments and includes personality jocks like Mr. Magic, street tough rapping, live funk bands and the birth of sampling. This compilation is a detailed compilation looking at Spring Records’ – and sub-label Posse - long and sometimes troubled relationship with hip-hop’s first decade. “Dollar Bill Y’All” shows that, despite their reservations, Spring recorded landmark records by not just King Tim III, but Jimmy Spicer, DJ Hollywood and Ice T (as part of Afrika & The Zulu Kings).

Extended sleeve notes, penned by Dean Rudland, tells the story of how the label could have been a force in the next generation of rap, possibly even signing Gang Starr, if only they had been committed: the Bally Boys single, which now sells for hundreds of pounds, was produced by Donald Dee Bowden who produced Gang Starr’s debut single ‘The Lesson’.

Release available on CD, double vinyl LP and Digital.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Money (Dollar Bill Y'All) (Long Version) - Jimmy Spicer

  • 02 Preview King Tim III (Personality Jock) - Fatback

  • 03 Preview Charley Says! (Roller Boogie Baby) - King Tim III

  • 04 Preview Magic's Message (There Has To Be A Better Way) - Mr Magic

  • 05 Preview To Whoever It May Concern - DJ Hollywood

  • 06 Preview Go For What You Know - Bally Boys

  • 07 Preview I'm Hot - The Rangers

  • 08 Preview Cars (Zulu Club Mix) - Afrika & The Zulu Kings

  • 09 Preview Rockin' It - MC Flex & The FBI Crew

  • 10 Preview Tearin' It Up - D4

  • 11 Preview The Beach (Long Vocal Version) - Afrika & The Zulu Kings

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought