On The Soul Side Various Artists (Kent)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

An iconic Kent vinyl album expanded to CD format with bonus soul necessities.

Over the years we have been asked to issue CDs versions some of the most popular Kent LPs we put out in the 1980s. With the exception of “Slow’n’Moody, Black & Bluesy”, a few releases in our Hip Pocket series and some solo collections, we have held off until now. “On The Soul Side” is a good place to start, as it was our first compilation drawn from a catalogue other than Kent/Modern. A superb collection of mainly big budget 60s soul sides sourced from the Capitol, Liberty, Minit, Imperial and United Artists family of labels, only a quarter of the tracks on the LP have since appeared on Kent CDs. With an extra 10 like-minded soul songs added, it means that no more than 15.3846% (approx) are likely to be in even the most avid Kent fan’s collection.

For nostalgic souls the first 16 tracks are sequenced as on the LP. Reliving those numbers brought home how good a collection of soul this was. The opening bars of Patrice Holloway’s ‘Love And Desire’ are brimming with instrumentation and backing singers, with her terrific vocals topping it off. Patrice also contributes the fabulous previously unissued ‘The Thrill Of Romance’ from her ‘Stolen Hours’ session – a must for 60s soul fanatics. The collection storms on to more uptempo, metropolitan soul classics from Little Anthony, Bobby Sheen and Jimmy Holiday with Clydie King. We then move south to Memphis for Homer Banks’ brass-fuelled ‘A Lot Of Love’ and Bobby Womack’s ‘What You Gonna Do (When Your Love Is Gone)’. Deeper into the south we hit R&B central – New Orleans – for crucial dance discs from Benny Spellman, the Showmen and Earl King.

Let’s not forget the ballads –Kent was always an all-inclusive soul provider. From the original LP we have monumental, smouldering songs from the O’Jays, H.B. Barnum and Garnett Mimms, while Marv Johnson, Lou Rawls and Merry Clayton are fitting additions to the much-loved genre. White soulsters Ginger Thompson and Timi Yuro are joined by blue-eyed soul brothers the Magnificent Men whose LP track ‘Nobody Treats Me The Way You Do’ is a highlight of late 60s Chicago soul written by Marvin Smith, arranged by Sonny Sanders and produced by Carl Davis – top credits.

Los Angeles also featured heavily on the LP with numbers from Gene McDaniels, Jimmy Holiday and several already mentioned. Additional West Coast gems on the CD come from June Jackson with the cute dancer ‘It’s What’s Underneath That Counts’ and Clydie King with the beautiful and poignant soul song ‘If You Were A Man’.

New York was home to ace composer Ellie Greenwich who penned the Exciters’ pugnacious ‘Do-Wah-Diddy’ with her husband Jeff Barry and later covered Jon Hendricks’ raucous ‘I Want You To Be My Baby’. Sylvia Robbins cut the groovy ‘Don’t Let Your Eyes Get Bigger Than Your Heart’ in NYC after she had split from her singing partner Mickey Baker. She would go on to become the successful owner of the All Platinum label and the first to release hip hop records. That’s a story for another day. Meanwhile, let’s enjoy soul music from its (and Kent’s) heyday.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Love And Desire - Patrice Holloway

  • 02 Preview Gonna Fix You Good (Every Time You're Bad) - Little Anthony & The Imperials

  • 03 Preview Dr Love - Bobby Sheen

  • 04 Preview Ready, Willing And Able - Jimmy Holiday & Clydie King

  • 05 Preview A Lot Of Love - Homer Banks

  • 06 Preview Lipstick Traces (On A Cigarette) - The O'Jays

  • 07 Preview The Record - H.B. Barnum

  • 08 Preview It Was Easier To Hurt Her - Garnet Mimms

  • 09 Preview Fortune Teller - Benny Spellman

  • 10 Preview It Will Stand - The Showmen

  • 11 Preview Boy Watcher - Ginger Thompson

  • 12 Preview Do-Wah-Diddy - The Exciters

  • 13 Preview I Want You To Be My Baby - Ellie Greenwich

  • 14 Preview Point Of No Return - Gene McDaniels with The Johnny Mann Singers

  • 15 Preview Baby I Love You - Jimmy Holiday

  • 16 Preview What's A Matter Baby (Is It Hurting You) - Timi Yuro

  • 17 Preview If You Were A Man - Clydie King

  • 18 Preview Nobody Treats Me The Way You Do - The Magnificent Men

  • 19 Preview The Thrill Of Romance - Patrice Holloway

  • 20 Preview It's What's Underneath That Counts - June Jackson

  • 21 Preview What You Gonna Do (When Your Love Is Gone) - Bobby Womack

  • 22 Preview Trick Bag - Earl King

  • 23 Preview Don't Let Your Eyes Get Bigger Than Your Heart - Sylvia Robbins

  • 24 Preview The Man Who Don't Believe In Love - Marv Johnson

  • 25 Preview Love Is A Hurtin' Thing - Lou Rawls

  • 26 Preview Nothing Left To Do But Cry - Merry Clayton

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought