More Rockin' On Broadway: The Time/Brent/Shad Story Various Artists (Time Brent Shad)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

It comes as no surprise that there were many additional rock'n'roll goodies to be found among the collection of masters recorded by label owner Bobby Shad. After all, his Brent, Shad and Time label vaults have already provided us with some fine quality music on two well received Ace CDs, Rockin' On Broadway (CDCHD 758) and the doo wop compilation, Wop Ding A Ling (CDCHD 739). On this third offering, six tracks have also been included that Shad had originally fielded under his Warner label banner.

The hustle and bustle of the New York record scene was a major force in determining the direction, shape and form music was and would be taking as the 1950s drew to a close. Rock'n'roll was still in its infancy, yet its power to reach a mass audience and create instant hit records (and cash flow for independent labels) was appealing if not down right compelling to all in the New York scene. While it is true that Shad recorded and released a variety of styles during his label's formative days, his entrance into the rock'n'roll field was assured by several strong rock'n'roll hits that were scored literally right out of the gate.

Shad pursued a direction for his labels that brought together the urban, suburban and country shades-flavours of rock'n'roll. Among his many artists, it was a core group (the Beau-Marks, Bell Notes, Genies, Skip & Flip, Chevrons and Knockouts) that set the groundwork for him. Each had hits or strong sellers with their initial or early releases. These recognised artists provide us with a strong central focus for this CD.

As we delve further, it should be noted that a youthful spirit prevails on almost all tracks on this compilation. Sax man, King Curtis, producer Leroy Kirkland and arranger-guitarist Mickey Guitar" Baker, all helped to shape these tracks, lending their professionalism musically to create more fine quality rock'n'roll music with a touch of rhythm and blues.

The result is a collection of snappy, bouncy and catchy tracks. The songs are simple and youthful, reflecting the audience they were aimed for at that time. There are no highbrow pretensions found here, just good old rock'n'roll. And therein lies the charm.

by George Povall (Early Bird Records)


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Rockin' Blues - The Beau-Marks

  • 02 Preview No Dice - The Bell Notes

  • 03 Preview Come Go With Me - The Chevrons

  • 04 Preview You're A Big Girl Now - The Bell Notes

  • 05 Preview The Blast - Rusty Isabell

  • 06 Preview Teenage Baby - Jimmy Church

  • 07 Preview That Comes With Love - The Chevrons

  • 08 Preview Cause We're In Love - The Beau-Marks

  • 09 Preview Chicken Necks - The Genies

  • 10 Preview Fancy Nancy - Skip & Flip

  • 11 Preview Rich Boy, Poor Boy - The Knockouts

  • 12 Preview She Went That-A-Way - The Bell Notes

  • 13 Preview Day After Forever - The Chevrons

  • 14 Preview Lindy Lou - Eddie Quinteros

  • 15 Preview To Be Alone - Wayne Worley

  • 16 Preview Daddy Said - The Beau-Marks

  • 17 Preview I Wish - Jimmy Church

  • 18 Preview I Give Up - Rusty Isabell

  • 19 Preview The First Time - The Genies

  • 20 Preview No Other Love (Like Yours) - The Fi-Dells

  • 21 Preview Crowded Classroom - The Strollers

  • 22 Preview The Tuttle - O.C. and the Holidays

  • 23 Preview Hy Wocky Toomba - The Mighty Jupiters

  • 24 Preview We're Strollin' - The Strollers

  • 25 Preview Watch That Action - O.C. and the Holidays

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought