Rhythm'n'Bluesin' By The Bayou Various Artists (By the Bayou)


Louisiana/New Orleans
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1363

“Rhythm’n’Bluesin’ By The Bayou”, the latest in our “By The Bayou” series, features 28 rompin’, stompin’ tracks from the blues men and women of South Louisiana. The tracks have been pulled from the vaults of leading record men J.D. Miller, Eddie Shuler and Floyd Soileau plus Rockin’ Sidney’s first disc – cut by Jake Graffagnino for his Carl label.

The sound of South Louisiana’s R&B stemmed from the Cosimo studios in New Orleans and those pioneers of the genre: Fats Domino, Smiley Lewis, Lloyd Price etc. As it spread west across the state, it gathered in the influences of zydeco, rural blues and the embryonic swamp pop, producing that distinctive amalgam which is enjoying popularity with collectors of today.

To help quench that thirst we have delved into the vaults of Miller and Shuler to locate the best  previously unknown tracks and alternate takes. Also, with modern studio techniques, our engineers have breathed fresh life into some of the material that was unearthed by Flyright almost 30 years ago.

Back in the 50s and into the early 60s, this was the music of working class black people; it was what they drank to, danced to and occasionally brawled to in the bars and clubs of this corner of the USA. It also got played on the area’s black radio stations and was gobbled up by white teenagers who would adapt it into their rockabilly and swamp pop songs.

As compiler of this CD, I was as excited listening to these master tapes as I would have been had I been one of those teenagers. The music is as fresh and vibrant now as it was in those far off days. With new tracks from the artists such as Blue Charlie and Mad Dog Sheffield, the first recordings of Rockin’ Sidney, a host of other little known artists (including three numbers from two mystery women) and obscure Zydeco rockers Thaddeus Declouet and C.J. Thierry, this is an exhilarating voyage of discovery.

When you listen to the music you’ll be transported back to its heyday – imagine lying on your bed grooving to those sounds on the radio in the sultry Louisiana night, with the bullfrogs croaking in the bayou. These are the sounds of an era that is almost forgotten but is kept alive by enthusiasts for enthusiasts.  

By Ian Saddler


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Rocky - Rockin' Sidney & His All-Stars

  • 02 Preview I Don't Care - Tabby Thomas

  • 03 Preview Give It Up - Charles Sheffield

  • 04 Preview Crazy About Love aka As Long As I'm Moving - Elizabeth

  • 05 Preview Right From Wrong - Billy Tate

  • 06 Preview Hey Mattie - Vince Monroe

  • 07 Preview Whole lot Of Drinking On The Block - Blue Charlie

  • 08 Preview Carry On - Clarence Garlow

  • 09 Preview Make Me Understand - Sidney Simien & His All Stars

  • 10 Preview Cool Cat - Mad Dog Sheffield

  • 11 Preview Mean Old Kokomo - Talton Miller

  • 12 Preview Bull Frog Bop - Thaddeus Declouet

  • 13 Preview Crazy About You Baby - C. J. Thierry

  • 14 Preview I Wanna Know, I Know Now - Big Chenier

  • 15 Preview Go Cat Go - Flo

  • 16 Preview Why Does Everything Happen To Me - Sonny Martin

  • 17 Preview Cool Down Baby - Jerry Morris

  • 18 Preview Don't Do That To Me - Jimmy Anderson

  • 19 Preview She's My Morning Coffee - Sidney Simien & His All Stars

  • 20 Preview No No Baby - Clarence Garlow

  • 21 Preview Hard Working Girlfriend - Vince Monroe

  • 22 Preview Yeah, Yeah, Yeah - Chuck Martin

  • 23 Preview Clema - Jerry Morris

  • 24 Preview Ain't Got Nobody - Elizabeth

  • 25 Preview Honey Bee - Blue Charlie

  • 26 Preview Sound The Bell - Clarence Garlow

  • 27 Preview Pretty Little Dolly - Mad Dog Sheffield

  • 28 Preview Watch That Crow - Blue Charlie

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Packed with rarities and unissued sides...an essential purchase for anyone interested in the soul of 50s R&B. ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought