Boppin' By The Bayou - Drives-Ins & Baby Dolls Various Artists (By the Bayou)


Louisiana/New Orleans
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1486

28 hot rockers, cool boppers and Cajun thumpers from Louisiana and South East Texas.

This exciting new addition to our popular “By The Bayou” series features 28 tracks from the vaults of Louisiana and South East Texas record men J.D. Miller, Eddie Shuler, Sam Montel, Pappy Daily, Huey Meaux, George Khoury, Joe Ruffino, Diamond Jim Wheeler and Melvin Dodge, plus tracks by Louisiana artists recorded by Murray Nash and Dee Marais. This might be the 16th in the series but it continues to unearth unknown goodies and dust off long-forgotten gems.

Rod Bernard contributes a fine version of the Chuck Berry classic ‘No Money Down’ and Pee Wee Trahan (aka Tommy Todd) delivers a demo of ‘Prisoner’s Song’ where J.D. Miller encourages him to speed up the song Presley-style, resulting in a primitive rockabilly version. Sadly, after this CD was compiled I learnt of Pee Wee’s death on 3 September. As well as being hugely talented, he was a modest and unassuming man who it was a privilege to know.

Also in the mix are a great piano solo from series favourite Gene Dunlap on Jay Chevalier’s ‘Khruschev And The Devil’ and piano pounders from Mickey Gilley and Cookie Roberts. There are hot guitars too, from Grant Clement on the Tune Tones’ outings and from Johnny Winter on Burl Boykin’s ‘Let Me Come Your Way’ and his own classic ‘School Day Blues’. Bobby McBride steps upfront with his bass guitar on Zoro & the Zips’ ‘Frankie & Johnny’ which features a drum solo from Warren Storm, while Cajun boppers are represented by Cleveland Crochet’s Sugar Bees and Terry Clement.

If you have a rockabilly heart, this collection is going to slap away at your heartstrings, set your fingers snappin’ and your feet a-tappin’. It’s time for some good ole Southern rockin’.

Ian Saddler


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Draggin' The Drive-Inns - Cookie Roberts

  • 02 Preview Drive In Movie - Mickey Gilley (Mr Excitement)

  • 03 Preview (You'll Have To) Come And Get It - Fred Carter

  • 04 Preview Mable's Done Gone - Jerry Noble & The Plantation Playboys

  • 05 Preview Rock My Warriors Rock - Joe Jackson

  • 06 Preview Rock Me Mama - Terry Clement & The Tune Tones

  • 07 Preview Let Me Come Your Way - Burl Boykin

  • 08 Preview Earlene - Vic Wilder with the Eddy Darcy Band

  • 09 Preview She's Fine - Frankie Lowery

  • 10 Preview Frankie & Johnny - Zoro & The Zips

  • 11 Preview Cuttin' Cane - Jay Chevalier & The Longshots

  • 12 Preview Won't You Tell Me - Doug Stanford

  • 13 Preview Hey Joli - Terry Clement

  • 14 Preview Sweet Thing - Cleveland Crochet & His Band Of Sugar Bees

  • 15 Preview Trio Boogie - Jay Nanules

  • 16 Preview Won't Somebody Love Me - Terry Clement

  • 17 Preview Charge It - Roy Templin & The Credit Cards

  • 18 Preview Love Can Wait - Johnny Bass

  • 19 Preview Baby I Don't Care - Wiley Jeffers

  • 20 Preview Zynnin' - Unknown Rockabilly Band

  • 21 Preview She's Mine - Frankie Lowery

  • 22 Preview School Day Blues - Johnny & The Jammers

  • 23 Preview She's My Baby Doll - Terry Clement

  • 24 Preview Don't Do It Daddy - Arnold Broussard

  • 25 Preview Prisoner's Song - Tommy Todd

  • 26 Preview No Money Down - Rod Bernard

  • 27 Preview Yeah! Yeah! My Baby - Wayne Farmer & The Teen-Beats

  • 28 Preview Khruschev And The Devil - Jay Chevalier

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought