Planet Mod - Brit Soul, R&B And Freakbeat From The Shel Talmy Vaults Various Artists (Shel Talmy)


60s Soul
Big Beat
Catalogue Id:
XXQLP2 052

This product is also available in these versions:
Planet Mod - Brit Soul, R&B And Freakbeat From The Shel Talmy Vaults, CD (£12.56)

Vintage mid-60s magic supervised by the producer most closely associated with the mod genre. Club favourites, nuggets from the Planet Records catalogue and many unheard gems – all straight from the Shel Talmy vaults. Available in CD and double LP formats. LP version pressed on 180g transparent red vinyl in heavy duty gatefold jacket.

Shel Talmy is a name that any discussion of the significant stewards behind British pop’s mid-60s purple period will immediately bring to mind. Were it only for his early supervision of the Who, he would still remain a mod hero. Add the dozens of other records and artists – from best-sellers such as the Kinks to obscurities along the lines of the Mickey Finn – with which he was involved, and his role in bringing forth the most powerful examples of the genre becomes unequivocal. Even a venture that was ostensibly a failure – his bespoke label, Planet Records – has acquired semi-mythical status amongst the mod cognoscenti, thanks in part to its association with Talmy’s great white hope, the Creation.

Rather than recycling the over-familiar, the new “Planet Mod” compilation digs deep into Talmy’s rarely tapped tape vault to uncover many other fabulous examples of a genre that wields considerable influence to this day. The core of 1960s modernist taste was always black America, but in recent decades the voracious appetite of genre practitioners finds not only rock, but home-grown soul and even pop squeezed within mod’s defining parameters. Certainly, several American artists are represented, including two of the acknowledged greats of US R&B. In a scenario that is all too frequent for Talmy, there is also at least one future superstar within the assembled cast. And on the other side of the coin, we have early, unsuccessful yet exciting recordings from two vocalists who would both go on to have massive UK hits in the 1970s and 1980s, albeit with essentially family-friendly fare.

The Thoughts, Untamed, Wild Uncertainty, Tribe, Corduroys and John Lee’s Groundhogs all recorded for Planet, while others such as the Trackers and Pros & Cons were independent productions Talmy farmed out to major labels. There are rare early compositions from Bowie (Kenny Miller’s ‘Take My Tip’) and Bill Wyman (the Preachers’ ‘Goodbye Girl’), while the beans are spilled on mysterious outfits the Total and the Soul Brothers. Several tracks are alternate takes or versions, including a demo version of the New Breed’s sought-after ‘Unto Us’ and a rollicking studio jam by Goldie & the Gingerbreads. Indeed, over half the contents of “Planet Mod” are previously unreleased.

This is the first of several Ace/Big Beat collections drawn from the Shel Talmy archives, with forthcoming volumes focused on his beat and girl group productions. All come with thoroughly loaded booklets that provide unprecedented detail upon this remarkable man’s activities in that magic era.

Alec Palao 

180g transparent red vinyl - double LP in heavy duty gatefold jacket.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Daddy Longlegs (Alternate version) - The Untamed

  • 02 Preview Take My Tip (Alternate take) - Kenny Miller

  • 03 Preview Call Me Girl - The Thoughts

  • 04 Preview Stone Crazy - Screamin' Jay Hawkins

  • 05 Preview I'll Never Fall In Love Again - John Lee's Groundhogs

  • 06 Preview Mai Lee - John Lee Hooker

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Unto Us (Demo version) - The New Breed

  • 02 Preview Have You Ever Had The Blues (Alternate take) - Ray Gates

  • 03 Preview Why Do You Stand In My Way - The Pros And Cons

  • 04 Preview Don't Let It Be - The Tribe

  • 05 Preview Too Much Of A Woman - The Corduroys

  • 06 Preview I'm Leaving - The Untamed

Side 3

  • 01 Preview Searching - The Soul Brothers

  • 02 Preview Goodbye Girl - The Preachers

  • 03 Preview Over You Baby - John Lee's Groundhogs

  • 04 Preview The Skip (Alternate version) - Goldie & The Gingerbreads

  • 05 Preview Life's Too Good To Waste - Tony Christie & The Trackers

  • 06 Preview I'm Going Out Tonight - The Untamed

Side 4

  • 01 Preview The Gamma Goochie - The Tribe

  • 02 Preview Pretty Girl - The Thoughts

  • 03 Preview Mary Ann - The Pros And Cons

  • 04 Preview Think - The Total

  • 05 Preview Broken Truth - A Wild Uncertainty

  • 06 Preview Goodbye So Long - The Soul Brothers

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought