Manhattan Soul: Scepter, Wand & Musicor Various Artists (Scepter/ Wand)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

Kent Records cut its teeth on these great New York labels’ recordings. The imprints were so much more than the sum total of their hits. Many of the big records are out on Kent already, so we have gone back to the one-offs, neglected sides and the newly-discovered that have turned up more recently: for soul collectors only.

Dancers are catered for by Northern Soul’s adopted sides such as Marie Knight’s ‘That’s No Way To Treat A Girl’, here in the intriguing long version that Kent first discovered, Betty Moorer’s Latin-tinged ‘Speed Up’, Diane Lewis’ Detroit opus ‘Without Your Love’ and J.B. Troy’s current in-demander ‘Live On’.

There are some choice unissued recordings from the unknown Helen Henry, singer/producer Ed Townsend (who purveys a beaty proto-soul number written by none other than a Poet) and a terrific slab of early funk from the mighty Jackie Moore. An Ashford, Simpson and Armstead number ‘One Time Too Many’ is a mouth-watering taster of a forthcoming CD of unissued Shirelles’ recordings. A further previously unheard debut comes from the Fabulous Dinos (a group well from their King recordings as the Fabulous Denos), whose ‘Diamond Ring’ is a different song to Sammy Ambrose’s ‘This Diamond Ring’, although cut for the same Musicor stable. Conversely, debutant recording artist Lee Thomas’ ‘Millionaire’ is the same song Chuck Jackson cut in the early 60s and which caused quite a stir in rare soul circles when first played out and eventually released in the mid-80s.

The more modern sounds of the labels’ influential 70s singles are represented by a southern-sounding Ann Bailey, a Curtis Mayfield-inspired Patti Jo and the oddly named, but surprisingly soulful, Buckeye Politicians, whose fascinating biog is featured in the booklet. Two crossover ballads cut in Philadelphia by Winfield Parker and George Tindley are from the turn of the 60s and show how Wand had a great ear for quality music, even if the sales were disappointingly low – what they lost in $, we’ve repaid them in admiration over the past decades. From the same city, but from a musical era a world away, comes one of the first deejays to cut (as opposed to spin) a disc, Douglas “Jocko” Henderson. His ‘Blast Off To Love’ is a catchy mover that was style over soul, as befits a hip wordsmith.

Overlooked 45s such as the Tabs’ ‘Take My Love Along With You’ sound great from a new mix-down from the original multi track tape, while Johnny Maestro’s ‘Afraid Of Love’ (the flip of ‘Stepping Out Of The Picture’) has been neglected solely because of the attention paid to its topside (well, that and the four-figure price tag). Dan & the Clean Cuts substantially cheaper ‘Walking With Pride’ epitomises cool long before the term was universally applied to anything vaguely half-decent.

The booklet has some stunning photos of the artists along with a nice selection of label scans to pretty up the several thousand word musical and historical appraisal. Welcome back Scepter, Wand and Musicor. It’s been too long.

By Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview That's No Way To Treat A Girl - Marie Knight

  • 02 Preview I Want A Guarantee - Maxine Brown

  • 03 Preview It's A Dream I've Always Had aka Hey Girl - Porgy & The Monarchs

  • 04 Preview I Love You 1,000 Times - The Platters

  • 05 Preview Take My Love Along With You - The Tabs

  • 06 Preview A Little Bit Of Heartbreak - Helen Henry

  • 07 Preview Stick By Me - Ed Townsend

  • 08 Preview Afraid Of Love - Johnny Maestro & The Crests

  • 09 Preview Live On - J.B. Troy

  • 10 Preview I've Got To Find Someone To Love Me - Jerry Fischer & The Nightbeats

  • 11 Preview Millionaire - Lee Thomas

  • 12 Preview Walking With Pride - Dan & The Clean Cuts

  • 13 Preview Girl I Could Love You More - The Buckeye Politicians

  • 14 Preview Will There Ever Be Another Love For Me - Winfield Parker

  • 15 Preview Ain't No Love Lost - Patti Jo

  • 16 Preview Sweeping Your Dirt Under My Rug - Ann Bailey

  • 17 Preview The Same Change - Jackie Moore

  • 18 Preview Speed Up - Betty Moorer

  • 19 Preview Without Your Love - Diane Lewis

  • 20 Preview One Time Too Many - The Shirelles

  • 21 Preview You Got It Baby - The Toys

  • 22 Preview Blast Off To Love - Douglas "Jocko" Henderson

  • 23 Preview Diamond Ring - The Fabulous Dinos

  • 24 Preview So Help Me Woman - George Tindley

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


24 glorious cuts. ★★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought