Love Hit Me! Decca Beat Girls 1962-1970 Various Artists (Beat Girls)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1456

This product is also available in these versions:
Love Hit Me! Decca Beat Girls 1963-1970, LP (£26.33)

British girl-pop gems from Decca Records’ matchless 1960s roster.

For British girl-pop, 1960s Decca is a goldmine. The label had its A&R hounds sniffing into every nook and cranny of the British Isles, signing up Midlands schoolgirls (the Orchids), London folk club denizens (Dana Gillespie, Beverley), former child actresses (Adrienne Poster, Sandra Barry), Liverpudlian girl groups (the Vernons Girls, the Satin Bells), soulful northerners (Elkie Brooks, Truly Smith) and Scots (Lulu, Barry St John), well-connected Chelsea girls (Louise Cordet, Twinkle, Marianne Faithfull), Merseybeat wannabes (Beryl Marsden), talent show winners (Billie Davis, Babbity Blue, Jean Martin) and even transient Americans (Goldie & the Gingerbreads) – all featured in this gorgeously packaged collection.

Decca’s female roster was largely placed in the skilled hands of producers, arrangers and writers such as Mike Leander, Andrew Loog Oldham, Shel Talmy, Charles Blackwell and Tony Meehan, who sourced a steady supply of homemade and American soul, folk-rock, beat and pop. The company’s productions carried a sense of excitement, urgency and frequently an audible adoration for US soul and pop sounds. Visiting US producer Shel Talmy, for example, was headhunted by Dick Rowe, Decca’s head of A&R, precisely because of his studio experience with American surf and R&B acts. “Dick was one of the few people in England who was pro-American, not averse to giving young guys some kind of chance to do something,” said Talmy in Stoned, Andrew Loog Oldham’s autobiography.

“Love Hit Me!” is available in 24-track CD and 12-track vinyl album formats. The CD version is packaged with a 20-page booklet featuring many rare colour photos and notes incorporating interviews with Billie Davis, Dana Gillespie, Georgina Oliver of the Orchids and Truly Smith, while the LP comes with a lavishly illustrated inner bag and is pressed on 180g sunshine yellow vinyl. Each format features an entirely different set of illustrations. Beat girl fans, take your pick.

Sheila Burgel


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I'm In Love With You - Billie Davis

  • 02 Preview No! No! No! - Dana Gillespie

  • 03 Preview That's Right Baby - Marianne Faithfull

  • 04 Preview Where The Good Times Are - Beverley

  • 05 Preview Poor Old Johnny - Twinkle

  • 06 Preview Love Hit Me - The Orchids

  • 07 Preview I Stand Accused (Of Loving You) - The Satin Bells

  • 08 Preview I Wanna Go Back There Again - Truly Smith

  • 09 Preview Something Beautiful - Adrienne Poster

  • 10 Preview I'll Come Running Over - Lulu

  • 11 Preview Hey Boy - Barry St John

  • 12 Preview Little Boy - Goldie & The Gingerbreads

  • 13 Preview What More Do You Want - The Exceptions

  • 14 Preview So Hard To Be Good - Louise Cordet

  • 15 Preview Really Gonna Shake - Sandra Barry & The Boys

  • 16 Preview The Way You Do The Things You Do - Elkie Brooks

  • 17 Preview I Want You To Be My Baby - Billie Davis

  • 18 Preview Save The Last Dance For Me - Jean Martin

  • 19 Preview Love Is Going To Happen To Me - Beryl Marsden

  • 20 Preview Don't Make Me Mad - The Orchids

  • 21 Preview Dat's Love - The Vernons Girls

  • 22 Preview Don't Make Me (Fall In Love With You) - Babbity Blue

  • 23 Preview Golden Lights - Twinkle

  • 24 Preview Hier Ou Demain - Marianne Faithfull

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Peerless UK girl group sounds ★★★★


Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought