Marylebone Beat Girls 1964-1967 Various Artists (Beat Girls)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1492

This product is also available in these versions:
Marylebone Beat Girls 1964-1967, LP (£26.33)

Superior 60s she-pop from UK Parlophone, Columbia and HMV – in CD and deluxe vinyl formats.

This follow-up to our recent “Love Hit Me! Decca Beat Girls” and “Scratch My Back! Pye Beat Girls” releases spotlights the female singers who recorded during 1964-1967 for the EMI group of labels, headquartered in Marylebone in the heart of London’s West End. As girl-pop champion Sheila Burgel writes in the package, “Most of the female acts signed by EMI were teenagers completely tuned in to the current pop trends. Scottish duo the McKinleys, R&B club habitué Julie Driscoll, talent show winner Billie Davis and Midlands pub singer Beverley Jones took original material from London’s Tin Pan Alley and American covers and gave them a vigorous kick that made for fabulous 45s. They may not have had quite the polish of their US counterparts, but the rough’n’ready sound of the Marylebone Beat Girl was precisely her appeal.”

Among the many highlights are ‘Dancing Yet’, a Dobie Gray-style discotheque number by Liza & the Jet Set; ‘Like The Big Man Said’ by Toni Daly, a cover of Italian star Caterina Caselli’s ‘L’uomo D’oro’ with edgy English lyrics by Peter Callander; Helen Shapiro’s latter-day collectable ‘Stop And You Will Become Aware’; ‘Love Is A Word’ by national treasure Alma Cogan, written and produced by Andrew Loog Oldham, no less; and Billie Davis’ groovy gender-switched update of Chuck Willis’ R&B nugget ‘Whatcha’ Gonna Do’.

The collection is available in 12-track LP and 25-track CD formats. Julie Driscoll graces the cover of the LP edition, which is pressed on 180g mandarin coloured vinyl in a heavy duty sleeve, with a 3000-word track commentary and an array of rare photos and memorabilia on the inner bag. The CD version, featuring Billie Davis on the cover, comes with a bumper 28-page booklet featuring a 7000-word note and additional photos.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Dancing Yet - Liza & The Jet Set

  • 02 Preview Whatcha' Gonna Do - Billie Davis & The Leroys

  • 03 Preview Sweet And Tender Romance - The McKinleys

  • 04 Preview Don't Do It No More - Julie Driscoll

  • 05 Preview Love Is A Word - Alma Cogan

  • 06 Preview Stop And You Will Become Aware - Helen Shapiro

  • 07 Preview Music Talk - Beryl Marsden

  • 08 Preview Like The Big Man Said - Toni Daly

  • 09 Preview I Want That Boy - The Chantelles

  • 10 Preview The Boy I Used To Know - Andee Silver

  • 11 Preview Mama Didn't Lie - Jean & The Statesides

  • 12 Preview He Doesn't Want You - The Three Bells

  • 13 Preview Hear You Talking - Beverley Jones with The Prestons

  • 14 Preview He Fought The Law - She Trinity

  • 15 Preview Find Out What's Happening - Tiffany with The Thoughts

  • 16 Preview Forget About The Bad Things - Helen Shapiro

  • 17 Preview I Know You Love Me Not - Julie Driscoll

  • 18 Preview I'm Waiting For The Day - Peanut

  • 19 Preview Lonely City Blue Boy - Cindy Cole

  • 20 Preview The Pleasure Girls - The Three Quarters

  • 21 Preview Ain't That Fun - Linda Laine with The Sinners

  • 22 Preview Suffer Now I Must - Cilla Black

  • 23 Preview Euston Station - Barbara Ruskin

  • 24 Preview He Knows I Love Him Too Much - Valerie Avon

  • 25 Preview Make The Most Of It - Judi Johnson

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Smashing girl group sounds from the Parlophone, HMV and Columbia labels ★★★★


Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought