Jiving Jamboree Volume 3: King Various Artists (Jiving)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

Robin Weathersbee is one heck of a busy bloke, and one who takes multi-tasking to a level that would exhaust most of us to even think about.

For starters, he's the man behind one of the UK's best attended-and-appreciated Rock'n'Roll Weekenders, the annual extravaganza that is Rhythm Riot". He and his partner Colette are also the proprietors of, and dance instructors at, Maddy's - "The Jivin'est Jivin' School" not only in London, but probably also in the rest of the civilised world as we know it. "

On top of this, Robin and Colette co-ordinate and host the annual Jitterbug Ball" and run a popular and unique themed show "The GI Jitterbugs". And if all this wasn't already enough to contend with, the couple are also responsible for the much loved, long-running monthly function "Jiving Jamboree" at which Robin also presses his record collection into service in the guise of the "Bakelite Boogie Record Hop".

Somewhere amid all this activity, he also finds time to sit down and compile a CD for Ace to tie in specifically with the Jamboree's activities. (He's also prepared an exciting set to coincide with this November's "Rhythm Riot", about which more soon!) We're always glad when he does, because he always comes up with a corker. And the third in our series is every bit the equal of its two best-selling predecessors.

Unlike the previous volumes, the repertoire on this edition of JJ is drawn exclusively from one group of labels - the mighty King/Federal/De Luxe out of Cincinnati, Ohio. It wouldn't be fair on Robin to imply that, in restricting his compilation activity to only these labels, he has made his job easier this time around. Indeed, it must have been hard to whittle his wish list down to just 24 tracks. (There's so much jumpin', jivin' stuff on KFD that he probably could have filled a decent-sized boxed set with King sides alone, and still have had enough left over for a second one!). But it certainly will have made his task all the more pleasurable to have such a wealth of impossibly great music to select a final two dozen tracks from!

As you'd expect from previous editions of JJ, Vol 3 starts off as it means to continue, at a pace that never flags for even one moment of its hour-and-a-bit running time. Robin has judiciously chosen material to represent almost every facet of what King boss Syd Nathan released during the label's first decade (with the exception, perhaps, of out-and-out rockabilly, which is well-represented on other Ace/King CDs anyway).Thus while you're dancing you'll also be enjoying the musical delights of big band shouters like H-Bomb Ferguson, Wynonie Harris and Jimmy Rushing-.-glorious guitar workouts from the legendary Jimmy "Chank" Nolen and Johnny Otis' man Pete Lewis-.-undisputed queens of 50s R&B such as Little Esther, Lula Reed and Annisteen Allen-.-a great Little Richard homage courtesy of Ba Ba Thomas-.-top notch hillbilly swing from Zeb Turner and Bob Newman-.-quintessential vocal group workouts by the Dominoes, Royals and a pre-fame Platters and plenty more besides...

Although Robin's put this together with the dancefloor uppermost in mind, he's also taken into account the all-around desirability of the King catalogue in collector circles. It's therefore worth mentioning that he's judiciously selected a fair number of magnificent masters that are making their CD debut in this package.

The bottom line on this one is that, even if you have the proverbial two left feet and want to sit the dancing out, you'll find King Jiving Jamboree's also a cracking good listen in addition to being a self-contained party!

...May we have this dance?

By Tony Rounce"


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Why Don't You Haul Off And Love Me - Bullmoose Jackson and his Buffalo Bearcats

  • 02 Preview Who Said Shorty Wasn't Coming Back - Lucky Millinder and his Orchestra (Vocal: Henry Glover)

  • 03 Preview Baby, Do You Know The Game (Baseball Boogie) - Mabel Scott

  • 04 Preview Lies, Lies, Lies - Annisteen Allen

  • 05 Preview Bradshaw Boogie - Tiny Bradshaw and his Orchestra

  • 06 Preview No More Nothin' - Zeb Turner

  • 07 Preview That's What You're Doin' To Me - The Dominoes

  • 08 Preview Hi-Ho-Sylvester - Jimmy Rushing

  • 09 Preview Louisiana Hop - Pete 'Guitar' Lewis

  • 10 Preview The Walkin' Blues - Jesse Powell and his Orchestra (Vocal: Fluffy Hunter)

  • 11 Preview Chic-A-Choo Freight Train - Bob Newman

  • 12 Preview Hollerin' And Screamin' - Little Esther

  • 13 Preview Are You Forgetting - The Royals

  • 14 Preview The Deacon Don't Like It - Wynonie Harris

  • 15 Preview I'll Upset You Baby - Lula Reed with Sonny Thompson and his Orchestra

  • 16 Preview You Hear - The Lamplighters

  • 17 Preview Fannie Brown Got Married - Roy Brown and his Mighty, Mighty Men

  • 18 Preview Cool Disc Jockey - Boyd Bennett and his Rockets

  • 19 Preview Voo-Vee-Ah-Bee - The Platters

  • 20 Preview Seven Nights To Rock - Moon Mullican with Boyd Bennett and his Rockets

  • 21 Preview Strollin' With Nolen aka Oonchy Oonchy - Jimmy Nolen

  • 22 Preview Midnight Ramblin' Tonight (There's Good Rockin' Tonight) - H Bomb Ferguson

  • 23 Preview Come On, Come On, Come On - Tiny Topsy

  • 24 Preview Miss Shake It - Ba Ba Thomas

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


The best CD in the whole world ever.

Now Dig This

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought