For The Good Times - The Songs Of Kris Kristofferson Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1574

A deep dip into the impressive catalogue of one of the USA’s finest songwriters. Classics and obscurities bridging country, soul, rock and pop, many on UK CD for the first time.

Kris Kristofferson wore many different hats during a long career. Roles in 85 films and a catalogue of more than 30 albums attest to his activity as an actor and a singer. However, he is probably best known as a songwriter, particularly for the cluster of timeless numbers he penned in the late 60s and early 70s that forged his reputation as a master craftsman. There won’t be many people out there in Ace-land who have not heard at least one version of ‘Help Me Make It Through The Night’, ‘Me And Bobby McGee’ or ‘For The Good Times’, which between them have amassed almost 1000 cover versions.

“For The Good Times” brings together 23 of his very best compositions from approximately his first 10 years of prolific activity. Some of these have been recorded dozens, even hundreds of times, while others have just one or two versions to their credit besides the author’s own. All of them display a lyrical genius that makes them endure in their own ways, and that reinforces just what a sublime songwriter Kris is.

The brilliance in these songs is reflected in the diversity of the artists who perform them here. Stars such as Isaac Hayes, the Everly Brothers, Willie Nelson, Scott Walker, George Jones and Waylon Jennings were always quick to spot quality, and most of them recorded more of Kris’ songs than the one featured here. The repertoire for this collection was chosen specifically to highlight the many ways in which Kris’ compositions have been performed, from soul to pop balladry, folk, MOR, rock’n’roll and inevitably country – truly a catalogue for all styles and all seasons.

Now 84 years old, Kris can look back on his career with immense pride and a sense of true accomplishment as a songwriter. Singers will still be performing and recording his all-time classics long after anyone reading this is around to enjoy them. “For The Good Times” is a testament to the talent of an extraordinarily gifted man.




Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Help Me Make It Through The Night - Sammi Smith

  • 02 Preview Sugarman - Sam Baker

  • 03 Preview Enough For You - Dianne Steinberg

  • 04 Preview Here Comes That Rainbow Again - Jerry Lee Lewis & Shelby Lynne

  • 05 Preview Just The Other Side Of Nowhere - Dean Martin

  • 06 Preview Something They Can't Take Away - Roy Orbison

  • 07 Preview From The Bottle To The Bottom - Billy Walker & The Tennessee Walkers

  • 08 Preview Nobody Wins - Cynthia Sheeler

  • 09 Preview Rock And Roll Time - Roger McGuinn

  • 10 Preview Somebody Nobody Knows - The Everly Brothers

  • 11 Preview The Taker - Kris Kristofferson

  • 12 Preview Prone To Lean - Donnie Fritts

  • 13 Preview Why Me, Lord? - George Jones

  • 14 Preview Loving Her Was Easier - Lloyd Charmers

  • 15 Preview Sunday Morning Coming Down - Bobby Osborne & The Rocky Top X-press

  • 16 Preview Me And Bobby McGee - Roger Miller

  • 17 Preview For The Good Times - Isaac Hayes

  • 18 Preview If You Don't Like Hank Williams - Hank Williams Jr

  • 19 Preview Please Don't Tell Me How The Story Ends - Joan Osborne

  • 20 Preview You Show Me Yours (And I'll Show You Mine) - Willie Nelson with Amy Irving

  • 21 Preview The Junkie And The Juicehead (Minus Me) - Johnny Cash

  • 22 Preview Got To Have You - The Walker Brothers

  • 23 Preview To Beat The Devil - Waylon Jennings

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought