Folk, Funk & Beyond - The Arrangements Of John Cameron Various Artists (Saint Etienne)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1631

John Cameron is truly one of the greatest and most recognisable British arrangers of the 60s and 70s. He came out of the British jazz scene, playing live as a teenager with the likes of Dick Heckstall-Smith. Moving to London, his first arrangement job was Donovan’s ‘Sunshine Superman’ – Cameron came up with a unique jazz-folk single with proto-psychedelic leanings that went to #1 in America and made him an in-demand arranger overnight. The Donovan connection (Cameron arranged virtually all of his 60s recordings) led to work based around woodwinds for Françoise Hardy and Julie Felix, but he was happier working with a full, funky brass section – in the 70s this led to classic hits with CCS, Hot Chocolate and Heatwave, as well as some of the most influential and heavily sampled KPM library recordings.

In cinemas, you might have heard Cameron’s bucolic, dreamy score for Kes; on TV there was the brassy blast of ‘Avenues And Alleyways’, the theme from The Protectors. Turning on the radio, you couldn’t have missed the Flirtations and CCS’s soulful hits, Errol Brown’s Hot Chocolate (we’ve gone for the atmospheric title track from their “Cicero Park” album) or Heatwave’s classic ‘Always And Forever’. More recently, Hopscotch’s ‘Look At The Lights Go Up’ has become a £300, in-demand mod dancer, while 50 Cent, Common and Cee-Lo Green have sampled the hazy groove of ‘Half Forgotten Daydreams’.

This is the first ever compilation of John Cameron’s arrangements. It has been compiled by Saint Etienne’s Bob Stanley, following his hugely successful CDs of arrangements by Thom Bell (Ready Or Not) and Norman Whitfield (Psychedelic Soul). It has thorough sleeve notes, unseen photos, and an interview with Cameron himself.

It’s a folky, funky, beautiful collection.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Kes (Front titles) - John Cameron

  • 02 Preview The Observation - Donovan

  • 03 Preview How Could You Say You're Leaving Me? - The Piccadilly Line

  • 04 Preview Ding Dong The Witch Is Dead - Julie Felix

  • 05 Preview Look At The Lights Go Up - Hopscotch

  • 06 Preview Boat Trip - Gordon Haskell

  • 07 Preview Willow's Harp - World Of Oz

  • 08 Preview La Mer, Les Étoiles Et Le Vent - Françoise Hardy

  • 09 Preview If I Thought You'd Ever Change Your Mind - Edwards Hand

  • 10 Preview Isn't This Where We Came In - Lionel Bart

  • 11 Preview Primrose Hill - Kathe Green

  • 12 Preview Barnes Bridge - Harold McNair

  • 13 Preview Move Me - Flamma Sherman

  • 14 Preview Everybody Needs Somebody (To Love In The End) - The Flirtations

  • 15 Preview Avenues And Alleyways - Tony Christie

  • 16 Preview Half Forgotten Daydreams - John Cameron

  • 17 Preview Open Your Window - Ella Fitzgerald

  • 18 Preview A Road To Nowhere - Lesley Duncan

  • 19 Preview Brother - CCS

  • 20 Preview Cicero Park - Hot Chocolate

  • 21 Preview Heat Haze - John Cameron

  • 22 Preview Cleopatra Jones - Bobby Harrison

  • 23 Preview I've Got Just What You Need - Cheryl Lynn

  • 24 Preview Always And Forever - Heatwave

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought