For Dancers 40 Various Artists (Kent/ Modern)


Northern Soul
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
For Dancers Forty - Kent Records 1982-2022, LP (£24.78)

Kent Records are commemorating 40 years since the LP Kent 001 “For Dancers Only” hit the record shops of 1982 with resounding success. Our new CD “For Dancers Forty” revisits the US Modern and Kent labels that started it all off.

We have already released a “For Dancers Forty” LP but though the compilations share the same celebratory title, only three tracks feature on both. We didn’t want to neglect our digital customers at the expense of the vinyl hounds.

The collection represents the breadth of label-owners Saul, Jules, Joe and Lester Bihari’s recordings, featuring stompers, Rhythm & Blues rockers, girl soul grooves group harmony and sublime ballads.

Several tracks are new to Kent CDs. There are previously unheard 1966 soul recording from 50s Modern R&B artists Aaron Collins and his siters The Teen Queens, guitarist/songwriter Arthur Adams and soul-crooner Billy Watkins. Kent stalwarts Mary Love and Z Z Hill are featured, musically and on the front cover, with a recently discovered studio shot. As with Kent 001 we feature the R&B sounds of the label from T-Bone Walker, Little Joe Blue, Flash Terry and the mighty B B King. There are underplayed tracks by Jeanette Jones, Lowell Fulson and Tommy Youngblood – whose moody LP-only track ‘Tobacco Road North’ has been sampled by US rappers.

As ever on our rare soul scene, it is the lesser-known artists who we spotlight - there are largely unheard tracks by Teddy Reynolds (from a very obscure Twist LP), King Solomon and a plaintive ballad from Beatrice Lee.  Northern Soul devotees will enjoy The Sweethearts’ Motownesque ‘No More Tears’, Jimmy Bee’s new and improved ‘Wanting You’ with added chorus, which has a digital debut and Clay Hammond’s cult mover ‘You Brought It All On Yourself’ reappears after several years absence. The funk-edged crowd get the first re-release of Foxfire’s manic take on Fulson’s ‘Tramp’, and new to Kent are Larry (Perault) & Tommy (Bush) doing a version of Shorty Long’s ‘Here Comes The Judge’.

Four decades of supplying soul and still so much more to come; here’s to the artists, writers, musicians and producers – CHEERS!

Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Satisfied Feeling - Mary Love

  • 02 Preview You'd Be Good For Me - Jeanette Jones

  • 03 Preview Gonna Put It On Your Mind - Arthur Adams

  • 04 Preview Tobacco Road North - Tommy Youngblood

  • 05 Preview Jealous Woman - T-Bone Walker

  • 06 Preview Walk The Chalk Line - Aaron Collins & The Teen Queens

  • 07 Preview I've Got Papers On You Baby - B.B. King

  • 08 Preview You Changed Me - Teddy Reynolds & The Twisters

  • 09 Preview Wanting You - Jimmy Bee

  • 10 Preview That's It - Z.Z. Hill

  • 11 Preview Push Me - Lowell Fulson

  • 12 Preview Here Comes The Judge - Larry & Tommy

  • 13 Preview Tramp - Foxfire featuring Johnny Adams

  • 14 Preview Freedom And Justice - Pace-Setters

  • 15 Preview Jimmy's Special - Little Joe Blue

  • 16 Preview Remove My Doubts - Stacy Johnson

  • 17 Preview You Brought It All On Yourself - Clay Hammond

  • 18 Preview It's Crazy Baby - Ike & Tina Turner

  • 19 Preview On My Way Back Home - Flash Terry & His Orch

  • 20 Preview Mr Bad Luck - King Solomon

  • 21 Preview Mr Bus Driver - The Teen Queens

  • 22 Preview No More Tears - The Sweethearts

  • 23 Preview Help Me - Beatrice Lee

  • 24 Preview I'll Let Nothing Come Between Us - Billy Watkins

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought