For Dancers Forty - Kent Records 1982-2022 Various Artists (KENT LP Series)


Northern Soul
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
For Dancers 40, CD (£12.56)

Celebrating 40 years since the game-changing “For Dancers Only” Kent LP 001, “For Dancers Forty” revisits the Los Angeles labels that have given us so much.

Like Kent 001 the collection represents the broad church of the Biharis recordings and features soul stompers, Rhythm & Blues busters, girly grooves and heavenly harmony.

Most tracks are new to Kent LPs and there’s a brand new 1966 soul recording from 50s Modern R&B artists Aaron Collins & The Teen Queens. Long-time Kent favourites Jackie Day, Z. Z. Hill and Johnny Copeland are included with some of their underplayed tracks – for Copeland it’s the first vinyl outing for his dancer ‘I Was Born To Love You’. As ever on our rare soul scene, it’s the lesser-known artists who we revel in and there are stunning tracks from the Sims Twins, the Marvellos, the Intentions and the in-demand (due to the Kent 45 being deleted) ‘I Got Love’ by the Other Brothers.

Tommy Youngblood’s LP track ‘Tobacco Road’ has been a sleeper, eventually being picked up by Hip Hop samplers for its atmospheric musical qualities – and we at last give its proper accreditation after decades of misinformation. Little Joe Hinton’s ‘Tired Of Walking’ is now looked on as an R&B dance classic despite its poor sales on release.

The Sweethearts adorn our cover with a recently discovered colour photo from the archives of Modern’s head engineer Bill Lazerus. Apart from their bouncy ‘This Couldn’t Be Me’, they provided backing for many of the stable’s 60s recordings.

You Have “Only”, “Also” and “Forever” – make space for “Forty”.

Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Long As I Got My Baby - Jackie Day

  • 02 Preview Down In The City - The Marvellos

  • 03 Preview I Got Love - The Other Brothers

  • 04 Preview I've Got To Win Your Love (For Me) - The Simms Twins

  • 05 Preview My Love She's Gone - The Intentions

  • 06 Preview This Couldn't Be Me - The Sweethearts

  • 07 Preview The Sun Don't Shine (Everyday) - The Saints

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Tobacco Road North - Tommy Youngblood

  • 02 Preview Stand Up Straight And Tall - Jackie Shane

  • 03 Preview Walk The Chalk Line - Aaron Collins & The Teen Queens

  • 04 Preview I'm Tired aka Love Line - Billy Watkins

  • 05 Preview Tired Of Walkin' - Little Joe Hinton

  • 06 Preview That's It - Z.Z. Hill

  • 07 Preview I Was Born To Love You - Johnny Copeland

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought