Reggie Young - Session Guitar Star Various Artists (Artist Anthologies)


60s Soul
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1537

During his six-decade career as a session man, predominantly in Memphis and Nashville, Reggie Young’s unique guitar work has embellished 45s and albums by just about every major artist who cut tracks in those two hotbeds of recording activity. There were plenty of lower profile names, too, who made great records without necessarily over-working the chart compilers. To Reggie it didn’t matter; he always did his best to provide what he felt was right for the song, very often just some personalised licks and fills here and there, but he would cut loose on a scorching solo if he thought it added to the overall performance. This CD contains a healthy mixture of both, and much in between.

Our overview shows Reggie Young completely at home in all the various genres that have provided top class material for so many Ace LPs and CDs for the best part of forty years. It has R&B and blues, rock’n’roll, instrumentals, rockabilly, soul and pop, as well as a veritable helping of left-field country to reflect the amount of time Reggie plied his trade in Nashville. A-sides, B-sides and album tracks have been carefully selected to sit comfortably together while simultaneously illustrating the development of Reggie Young’s armoury of guitar stylings from the 1950s and into the present century.

Reggie Young’s guitar work has been heard on many Ace compilations over the years, and none more so than our still available CD “Memphis Boys: The Story Of American Studios” (CDCHD 1330) released in 2012. We have therefore avoided any duplication of tracks here, even though several of the same artists are featured. Hence you will find some equally tasty alternatives to the likes of Dusty Springfield’s ‘Son Of A Preacher Man’, King Curtis’ ‘Memphis Soul Stew’ and Joe Tex’s ‘Skinny Legs And All’.

In May 2017 Ace released Reggie Young’s first and, so far, only solo album “Forever Young” (CDCHD 1500) which sufficiently raised his profile in the US for his people to lobby for a Lifetime Achievement Award nomination on Reggie’s behalf with regard to the forthcoming Grammys. It is hoped our new compilation will go some way in assisting their efforts.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Slip, Slip, Slippin' In - Eddie Bond & his Stompers

  • 02 Preview Carol - Bill Black's Combo

  • 03 Preview A Touch Of The Blues - Bobby Bland

  • 04 Preview Dream Baby - Jerry & Reggie

  • 05 Preview I'm Movin' On - The Box Tops

  • 06 Preview The Champion Pt 1 - Willie Mitchell

  • 07 Preview Meet Me In Church - Solomon Burke

  • 08 Preview Chicken Crazy - Joe Tex

  • 09 Preview In The Pocket - King Curtis & the King Pins

  • 10 Preview More Love - James Carr

  • 11 Preview Don't Forget About Me - Dusty Springfield

  • 12 Preview Stranger In My Own Home Town - Elvis Presley

  • 13 Preview I Wanna Roo You - Jackie De Shannon

  • 14 Preview Drift Away - Dobie Gray

  • 15 Preview Rock'n Roll (I Gave You The Best Years Of My Life) - Sonny Curtis

  • 16 Preview Victim Of Life's Circumstances - Delbert McClinton

  • 17 Preview Lover Please - Billy Swan

  • 18 Preview Morning Glory - James & Bobby Purify

  • 19 Preview Cocaine - J.J. Cale

  • 20 Preview I Think I'll Just Stay Here And Drink - Merle Haggard

  • 21 Preview The Highwayman - The Highwaymen Aka Waylon Jennings Willie Nelson Johnny Cash Kris Kristoffe

  • 22 Preview Griselda - Natalie Merchant

  • 23 Preview Whenever You Come Around - Little Milton

  • 24 Preview Where Do We Go From Here - Waylon Jennings

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Bus Stop Mail Order Ltd, 42-50 Steele Road, London, NW10 7AS. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought