London A To Z Various Artists (Saint Etienne)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDTOP 1638

If you threw a house party in London in the late twentieth century, before the smart phone rendered it redundant, you could guarantee that the following morning there would be a dog-eared copy of the A to Z behind the sofa, or under the coffee table, probably in a Tesco bag. Everybody had at least one. It was an essential aid in understanding London. It joined the dots and threw up obscure names printed over hitherto unexplored grids of streets: Alperton, Shooters Hill, Honor Oak, Tooting Graveney, Childs Hill, Ladywell. It invited you to create your own personal map of London, discover your own secret routes, your own special places.

You could peruse the A to Z with the knowledge of who lived where – Sandy Denny in Wimbledon, before she moved to Muswell Hill which was already legendary as the home of the Kinks. Arterial roads as grisly as Archway Road (Rod Stewart) or Holloway Road (Joe Meek) or could be made magic through their pop connections.

Put together by Saint Etienne’s Bob Stanley, this is the soundtrack of London’s centre (Bert Jansch and John Renbourn’s ‘Soho’, Nick Drake’s ‘Mayfair’) and its hinterlands (Al Stewart’s ‘Swiss Cottage Manoeuvres’, Humble Pie’s ‘Beckton Dumps’, Julie Driscoll’s ‘Vauxhall To Lambeth Bridge’) with a few transport links (Barbara Ruskin’s ‘Euston Station’, Norma Tanega’s ‘Clapham Junction’) thrown in to help you navigate your A to Z. This isn’t London swinging cinematically, but it has the exact feel of the city’s streets and suburbs in the late 60s and early 70s.

What might be lurking in these locations, waiting to be uncovered on a cold winter Saturday? Corner caffs with Pepsi signs. Second-hand record shops and rickety street markets. Many are gone, but not all. This compilation is a musical travel guide – squint, and sometimes London can still seem magical. This is it’s soundtrack.

Bob Stanley


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Cutty Sark - The John Barry Seven & Orchestra

  • 02 Preview Portobello Road - Cat Stevens

  • 03 Preview Sunny Goodge Street - Marianne Faithfull

  • 04 Preview Jeffrey Goes To Leicester Square - Jethro Tull

  • 05 Preview Marcel's - Herman's Hermits

  • 06 Preview Goodbye Post Office Tower Goodbye - Cressida

  • 07 Preview Primrose Hill - John & Beverley Martyn

  • 08 Preview Mayfair - Nick Drake

  • 09 Preview London Bridge - Cilla Black

  • 10 Preview Hampstead Way - Linda Lewis

  • 11 Preview Soho - Bert Jansch & John Renbourn

  • 12 Preview Friday Hill - Bulldog Breed

  • 13 Preview London Social Degree - Dana Gillespie

  • 14 Preview Euston Station - Barbara Ruskin

  • 15 Preview Kew Gardens - Ralph McTell

  • 16 Preview City Road - Dave Evans

  • 17 Preview Parliament Hill - Magna Carta

  • 18 Preview Edgware Station - Edward Bear

  • 19 Preview Beckton Dumps - Humble Pie

  • 20 Preview Notting Hill Gate - Quintessence

  • 21 Preview Clapham Junction - Norma Tanega

  • 22 Preview Swiss Cottage Manoeuvres - Al Stewart

  • 23 Preview Richmond - Shelagh McDonald

  • 24 Preview Vauxhall To Lambeth Bridge - Julie Driscoll, Brian Auger & The Trinity

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought