Bluesin' By The Bayou - I'm Not Jiving Various Artists (By the Bayou)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1471

Raw blues gems trawled from the swamps of South Louisiana, plus a touch of zydeco. Ten tracks are previously unreleased or alternate takes, while the other 18 are extremely rare.

Baton Rouge was arguably the blues centre of Louisiana and just about all of the artists featured in this compilation spent part of their lives there. Long-time favourites Lightnin’ Slim, Lazy Lester, Slim Harpo and Silas Hogan certainly honed their skills in its clubs and bars, although they travelled some 70 miles west to record at J.D. Miller’s studio in Crowley. Everything here emanated from Miller’s studio or from his close rival Eddie Shuler’s facility in Lake Charles, except series newcomer Chris Kenner’s track, which was cut in New Orleans. Other artists new to the series are Henry Gray, Juke Boy Bonner, Elton Anderson, Ramblin’ Hi Harris and Schoolboy Cleve.

All of which means we have another feast of classic blues, led by guitar, piano or harmonica, plus a little zydeco from Clifton Chenier and Boozoo Chavis, whose tracks sit comfortably alongside the work of Lonesome Sundown, Jimmy Anderson and our other artists. During the 50s and 60s zydeco was the blues of the French-speaking black population of Louisiana, with the accordion replacing the harmonica as instrument of choice. Today the music is enjoying huge popularity, with thousands of aficionados from across the globe flooding to festivals in Lafayette, Breaux Bridge and other small towns across southwest Louisiana.

So take the opportunity to sit back and listen to the piercing guitars, wailing harmonicas and rolling pianos backing those down-to-earth vocals spilling out their stories of love, woe or defiance down by the bayou. The age of downhome blues may have left us but here is the chance to transport yourself back six decades and feel the heat of the Louisiana night and its rawest music.

Ian Saddler


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I'm A Lucky Lucky Man - Henry Gray

  • 02 Preview I'm Not Jiving - Juke Boy Bonner

  • 03 Preview Miss Fannie Brown - Lightnin' Slim

  • 04 Preview Things Gonna Change - Slim Harpo

  • 05 Preview I Don't Know Why - Boogie Jake

  • 06 Preview I Told My Little Woman - Lazy Lester

  • 07 Preview I'm A Mojo Man - Lonesome Sundown

  • 08 Preview Oh Ho She's Gone - Boozoo Chavis

  • 09 Preview Everybody Calls Me Crazy - Clifton Chenier

  • 10 Preview Don't Bring No Friend - Blue Charlie Morris

  • 11 Preview No Use To Worry - Lonesome Sundown

  • 12 Preview Baby Let's Burn - Jimmy Anderson

  • 13 Preview Wild About My Baby - Slim Harpo

  • 14 Preview (Roaches In My Kitchen) Trouble At Home Blues - Silas Hogan

  • 15 Preview I Want To Talk To You (Baby) - Elton Anderson

  • 16 Preview Patrol Wagon - Lazy Lester

  • 17 Preview Early One Morning - Ramblin' Hi Harris

  • 18 Preview She's Gone - Schoolboy Cleve

  • 19 Preview Don't Let Her Pin That Charge On Me - Chris Kenner

  • 20 Preview I Feel Like Calling You - Clarence Garlow

  • 21 Preview Bye Bye Catin - Boozoo Chavis

  • 22 Preview Night And Day My Love - Clifton Chenier

  • 23 Preview Late Hour Blues - Henry Clement

  • 24 Preview Cold Chills - Henry Gray

  • 25 Preview Prove Me Guilty - Elton Anderson

  • 26 Preview Sitting Here All Alone - Johnny Sonnier

  • 27 Preview Prisoner's Song - Vince Monroe (Mr Calhoun)

  • 28 Preview Frankie And Johnny - Jimmy Anderson

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


This is lovely, lovely music. If you're adventurous enough to give it a whirl, I don't think you'll regret it

Now Dig This

Vintage South Louisiana swamp blues and zydeco ... The latest in an excellent series ★★★★


A great package straight from the swamp.

Ugly Things

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought