Rhythm & Bluesin' By The Bayou - Livin', Lovin' & Lyin' Various Artists (By the Bayou)


Rhythm & Blues
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1514

Top-notch rhythm & blues tracks from South Louisiana, including 11 previously unissued groovin’ goodies.

Back in the early 50s manic Memphis DJ Dewey Phillips, the man who broke Elvis, called his radio show Red, Hot & Blue – a wonderfully descriptive title which aptly illustrates the contents of this CD, the 19th in the “By The Bayou” series and the sixth devoted to R&B.

Whether from New Orleans in the east or Lake Charles in the west, whether fast and furious or slow and mournful, South Louisiana’s brand of R&B had a distinctive sound which influenced a whole generation of the state’s young rock’n’rollers, creating a blend which became known as swamp pop. Here – hidden amongst the red, hot and blue – can be heard the embryonic sounds of that music.

As previously in the series, this CD contains a mix of the famous and the totally unknown, with offerings from Guitar Jr, Lonesome Sundown and Cookie & the Cupcakes, through cult names such as Left Hand Charlie, Charles Sheffield and Little Victor to artists for whom we don’t even have a name – each play a part in bringing you a package which runs the whole gamut of South Louisiana rhythm & blues.

That embryonic swamp pop sound is typified by Guitar Jr’s ‘Family Rules’, a song still sung throughout South Louisiana and into S.E. Texas where the oil business took many of Cajun descent. It is artists of this background who keep R&B alive today, while it can be difficult to find black musicians who play this genre of music. A couple of years ago Louisiana R&B veteran Carol Fran took four of us out to find a Monday night jam session but discovered several of her old haunts closed down. Eventually she found a club with a jam going on. They were younger musicians not playing Carol’s kind of music but instantly recognised her, got her on stage and a good old R&B blast took place.

With the dearth of this exciting music as a live entertainment, its preservation through the release of long-lost tracks gathers in importance. But, hold on, this ain’t no history lesson, this is rompin’, stompin’ music to be enjoyed – so crank up your hi-fi, slip this CD in your player, grab a glass of something you enjoy and let the bon temps roule.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I Keep Crying - Cookie & the Cupcakes

  • 02 Preview Troubles Troubles - Eddie Lang

  • 03 Preview Loc-A-Li - Little Victor & His Jivin' Five

  • 04 Preview Give It Up - Lonesome Sundown

  • 05 Preview Wanna Be Your Man - Little Bob & The Lollipops

  • 06 Preview Don't Know Why - Little Nolton

  • 07 Preview Tell Me Why - Elizabeth

  • 08 Preview Love Me Chile - Unknown

  • 09 Preview Roll On Ole Mule - Tabby Thomas

  • 10 Preview I Would Be A Sinner - Charles Sheffield

  • 11 Preview Baby, Baby, Come To Papa - King Karl

  • 12 Preview Keep Livin' - Cookie & The Cupcakes

  • 13 Preview Won't Be Blue No More - Unknown

  • 14 Preview Mama's Little Girl - Van Preston

  • 15 Preview I Know - Elizabeth

  • 16 Preview Baby's Got Bad Feet - Eddie Williams

  • 17 Preview Won't Be Me - King Charles

  • 18 Preview Love Me, Love Me Mary Ann - Guitar Jr

  • 19 Preview Scorched - Tal Miller

  • 20 Preview Uncle John Special - Little Ray Campbell

  • 21 Preview Carry On Yvonne - Chuck Martin

  • 22 Preview Family Rules (Angel Child) - Guitar Jr

  • 23 Preview Crying, Crying - Sticks Herman with Marcelle Dugas Combo

  • 24 Preview Baby If You Want To Play - James Freeman

  • 25 Preview But You Thrill Me - King Charles & His Orchestra, vocal Left Hand Charlie

  • 26 Preview I Got It Made (When I Marry Shirley Mae) - Guitar Jr

  • 27 Preview Don't Say - Tabby Thomas

  • 28 Preview Boogie With Calypso - Joe "Mr G" August

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


"Volume 19 in this series of music from South Louisiana has similar ingredients to most of the others, with a rich mix of swampy, New Orleans, quirky r&b often of a very primitive nature.  I particularly liked Eddie Lang’s slow shouted blues Troubles, Troubles with some superb guitar from Eddie himself, and Eddie Williams’ excellent piano rocker Baby’s Got Bad Feet, whilst King Charles’ band produce a really attractive rocking mid-tempo lope on Won’t Be Me.  There’s one ‘Unknown Artist’ who has two good tracks – the nice beater Love Me Chile and the really soulful Won’t Be Blue No More, both of which make me want to know who he was and what happened to him There’s enough good music on this latest episode to provide fine entertainment for those who like r&b, especially from that corner of the US, one of the cradles of the finest music."

Now Dig This

"Back down the bayou we go, for more infectious tales of heartbreak and hard times.  Livin’, Lovin’ & Lyin’ is a delectable assortment of  lesser-known, bummed-out, cockle-warming classics, and shows that The Bayou doesn’t look set to dry up anytime soon."

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought