Where The Boys Are - The Songs Of Neil Sedaka And Howard Greenfield Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1311

Neil Sedaka and Howard Greenfield were the first songwriters to sign with Al Nevins and Don Kirshner’s Aldon Music. ‘Stupid Cupid’, their initial song for the company, was recorded by Connie Francis. It shot up the charts in 1958 and before long Aldon was the most successful music publisher in the USA, with scores of international hits in their catalogue and a stable of writers that included Gerry Goffin, Carole King, Barry Mann, Cynthia Weil and many of the other top exponents of the day.

In 2005, Ken Emerson published his book Always Magic In The Air, in which he chronicled the lives and careers of seven eminent New York-based songwriting duos of the Brill Building era. Here at Ace Records, we launched our songwriter series the previous year with a collection of tracks penned by Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller, the book’s main characters. Since then, the series has expanded to include, amongst many others, six of the writing teams featured by Emerson. With this latest edition, which spotlights the songs of Sedaka and Greenfield, the soundtrack of his book becomes complete.

The CD – which also includes a few numbers co-penned by third parties Carole King, Jack Keller, Roger Atkins, Helen Miller and Carole Bayer – comes with a bumper booklet featuring an exclusive interview with Neil Sedaka, who concludes: “Howie Greenfield and I wrote very commercially. Howie was one of the best lyricists in the business. His lyrics were very slick and polished, like tiny, compact novels, self-contained dramas. I think he was very underrated. The critics didn’t like him as much as the public did. The proof of the pudding is in the great two and a half minute songs we mastered. I would usually come with two or three finished tunes. He would choose the tune according to his mood at that moment. I liked to give him a choice. We fought, but we always made up. There were disagreements over phrases or musical notes. I think you have to have those fights. We stayed together for over 30 years. I’m very proud of the many, many songs we wrote together. They’re all my dear children. I still miss Howie a lot.”

By Mick Patrick


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Stupid Cupid - Connie Francis

  • 02 Preview Keep A Walkin' - Bobby Darin

  • 03 Preview Breaking Up Is Hard To Do - Carole King

  • 04 Preview Another Sleepless Night - Jimmy Clanton

  • 05 Preview Fallin' - Wanda Jackson

  • 06 Preview Calendar Boy - Dee Dee Sharp

  • 07 Preview Ooh-Sha-Lala - Mickey & Kitty

  • 08 Preview Crying In The Rain - The Everly Brothers

  • 09 Preview The Diary - Little Anthony & The Imperials

  • 10 Preview I Waited Too Long - LaVern Baker

  • 11 Preview Get Rid Of Him - Dionne Warwick

  • 12 Preview Since You've Been Gone - Clyde McPhatter

  • 13 Preview Where The Boys Are - Connie Francis

  • 14 Preview Foolish Little Girl - The Cookies

  • 15 Preview Bewitched - Peggy Lee

  • 16 Preview Magic Colors - Lesley Gore

  • 17 Preview Walking In The Footsteps Of A Fool - Ben E King

  • 18 Preview It Hurts To Be In Love - Gene Pitney

  • 19 Preview Puppet Man - Tom Jones

  • 20 Preview Workin' On A Groovy Thing - Patti Drew

  • 21 Preview Don't Look Over Your Shoulder - Nancy Wilson

  • 22 Preview The Girl I Left Behind Me - The Monkees

  • 23 Preview Rainy Day Bells - The Globetrotters

  • 24 Preview While I Dream - The Tokens

  • 25 Preview You're Knockin' Me Out - Neil Sedaka

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


Each song is a timeless treat. ★★★★


Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought