Flip Doo Wop Volume 3 Various Artists (Flip)


Doo Wop
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Flip Doo Wop Vol 3 (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

With Vol 3 of the FLIP DOO WOP survey, we come to the final helping in this series, which has been complemented by single group CDs for the SIX TEENS (Ace CDCHD 842) and the DREAMERS (Ace CDCHD 829). Flip's lasting legacy to the vocal group scene can be gleaned from the fact that out of going on for 70 records on the label, over 50 of them were by R&B vocal groups. With the release of this volume, some 80-odd different vocal group sounds from the label are now available for the discerning collector.

This time the emphasis is on the late 50s and early 60s, although there are a few tracks from the mid 50s in amongst them. One of the later acts to join Flip was Lena Calhoun & the Emotions, who recorded three singles for the label in 1961. Taken from those singles are three tracks (including one of my favourites, I Ran To You) which show the girl group sound just at the point at which it was about to transform into soul. Another female grouping, the Ru-Bee-Els, is featured here with I'll Try. This group was a trio drawn from the quartet called the Sweet Teens, whose sole single for Flip is featured on Vol 1. Established acts, such as the Six Teens, Elgins, Dukes, King Bees and Maharajahs, all of which have been featured on previous volumes in this series, are featured here with two tracks each. The second single from Flip's pioneer group Donald Woods & the Velaires (ne?© Belaires) is included and this completes all their recordings for the label.

As promised in etrack a while back, a couple of previously unreleased sides debut on this volume. The Rainiers' I Won $4000 was one of two unissued sides they recorded for the label, the other being featured on Vol 2. The mixed male/female group the Flippers, on the other hand, did have a release on Flip and two other sides were left in the can. Three of the four were featured on Vol 1 and their last remaining track is presented here.

Although the song Louie Louie is such a phenomenon in its own right that it deserves a whole compilation to itself to present its influences, covers and derivatives (Ace CDCHD 844 - LOVE THAT LOUIE), no survey of Flip Doo Wop would be complete without Richard Berry & The Pharoahs' seminal recording of the song from 1957. So that's included here along with their well-known Have Love Will Travel.

As has been the case for all volumes in this survey, the compilation is annotated by Gordon Skadberg and the guys at Earlybird Records. Doubtless we shall see them back at the helm soon with more of the vocal group sound served up from the West Coast.

By Peter Gibbon


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I Won $4000 - The Rainiers

  • 02 Preview Uncle Sam's Man - The Elgins

  • 03 Preview Oh It's Crazy - The Six Teens

  • 04 Preview Sweet Loretta - The Maharajahs

  • 05 Preview I Love You - The Dukes

  • 06 Preview Louie Louie - Richard Berry & The Pharaohs

  • 07 Preview I Ran To You - Lena Calhoun & The Emotions

  • 08 Preview Puppy Love - The King Bees

  • 09 Preview I Cry And Cry Every Night - Jimmie Smith & The Lockettes

  • 10 Preview I'll Try - The Ru-Bee-Els

  • 11 Preview My Very Own - Donald Woods & The Vel-Aires

  • 12 Preview My Walkie Talkie Baby - The Flippers

  • 13 Preview Give Me Your Number - The King Bees

  • 14 Preview Been Lookin' Your Way - Lena Calhoun & The Emotions

  • 15 Preview Leap Year Cha Cha - The Dukes

  • 16 Preview Beware Of Love - The Ivy Leaguers Feat Richard Owens

  • 17 Preview Oh Shirley - The Maharajahs

  • 18 Preview Have Love Will Travel - Richard Berry & The Pharaohs

  • 19 Preview I Can Tell (I'm Losing Your Love) - Lena Calhoun & The Emotions

  • 20 Preview Casey Cop - The Elgins

  • 21 Preview A Foolish Little Girl - Trudy Williams With Vocal Accompaniment

  • 22 Preview Stay With Me Always - Donald Woods & The Vel-Aires

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


A strong closer to this mini-series.

Record Collector

A fitting close to two superb series; purchasers of the previous volumes will not need any encouraging from me to seek these out. Well done Ace!

Blues & Rhythm

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought