The Stax Solo Recordings Various Artists (Stax)


Modern Soul
Catalogue Id:

A contributor to the Yahoo Group’s Southern Soul chat list once posted a statement to the effect that he never bought records by female artists as he did not consider that women could sing soul. If the poor, deluded fool should happen to be reading this, I would suggest he buys this combination of Stax recordings by Veda Brown and Judy Clay. It will prove to him how wrong he has been over the years and, with luck, send him down the path to open-mindedness - nay, righteousness.

Judy’s duet of ‘Private Number’ with William Bell might have overshadowed the rest of her Stax output in terms of hitmaking and world-wide recognition but you would have to have cloth ears - or the blinkered attitude of our friend above - not to recognise the soul-dripping worth of the rest of her Stax (solo) output featured here, not least the pounding ‘Your Love Is Good Enough’, issued here for the first time. Judy’s gospel upbringing is overwhelmingly evident on ‘Remove These Clouds’, a marvellous horn-supported ballad penned by Bettye Crutcher and Allen Jones, while the deep ‘It’s Me’ is another triumph, both for Judy as a performer and Ace as an issuer, it only having previously appeared on a somewhat obscure sampler album in 1968.

Veda Brown’s first two recordings at Stax were to become monsters for Luther Ingram, ‘(If Loving You Is Wrong) I Don’t Want To Be Right’ and ‘I’ll Be Your Shelter (In Time Of Storm)’. The bad news is that Veda’s versions never progressed beyond the demo stage, the good news is that they are making their debut here and the same goes for ‘Help me Make It Through The Night’ and ‘Take My Hand, Precious Lord’, together with a very sprightly ‘True Love Don’t Grow On Trees’ and an excellent take on Bobby Bland’s hit, ‘That’s The Way Love Is’. As far as her released product is concerned, surprisingly the infectious, funky ‘Take It Off Her (And Put It On Me)’ failed to chart but, thanks once again to Mister Rounce’s liners, we’re advised the reason might have been due to the fact that the powers-that-be decided to flip the release in favour of the beat-ballad ‘Living A Life Without Love’, a song Veda disliked lyrically. (Got to disagree Veda, sorry!) She didn’t like her answer to Ingram, ‘I Know It’s Not Right (To Be In Love With A Married Man)’ either and again I’m going to strike a contrary note. Fortunately, she did like ‘Short Stopping’, very much in the bag of Jean Knight’s ‘Mr Big Stuff’, third time lucky chartwise and now something of a Stax classic. Just one release later, ‘Don’t Start Loving Me (If You’re Gonna Stop)’ and Veda was off the label, an early victim of the problems that would lead to the company’s demise.

By David Cole


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Take It Off Her (And Put It On Me) - Veda Brown

  • 02 Preview Living A Life Without Love - Veda Brown

  • 03 Preview I Know It's Not Right (To Be In Love With A Married Man) - Veda Brown

  • 04 Preview Don't Let The Green Grass Fool You - Veda Brown

  • 05 Preview Short Stopping - Veda Brown

  • 06 Preview I Can See Every Woman's Man But Mine - Veda Brown

  • 07 Preview Fever - Veda Brown

  • 08 Preview Don't Start Loving Me (If You're Gonna Stop) - Veda Brown

  • 09 Preview Help Me Make It Through The Night (Demo) - Veda Brown

  • 10 Preview (If Loving You Is Wrong) I Don't Want to Be Right (Demo) - Veda Brown

  • 11 Preview Guilty Of Loving You - Veda Brown

  • 12 Preview True Love Don't Grow On Trees (Demo) - Veda Brown

  • 13 Preview That's The Way Love Is - Veda Brown

  • 14 Preview Who Wouldn't Love A Man Like This - Veda Brown

  • 15 Preview I'll Be Your Shelter (In Time Of Storm) (Demo) - Veda Brown

  • 16 Preview Take My Hand, Precious Lord (Demo) - Veda Brown

  • 17 Preview Remove These Clouds - Judy Clay

  • 18 Preview Bed Of Roses - Judy Clay

  • 19 Preview It's Me - Judy Clay

  • 20 Preview Since You Came Along - Judy Clay

  • 21 Preview Somebody's Fool - Judy Clay

  • 22 Preview It Ain't Long Enough - Judy Clay

  • 23 Preview Give Love To Save Love - Judy Clay

  • 24 Preview Your Love Is Good Enough - Judy Clay

  • 25 Preview My Baby Specializes (Solo version) - Judy Clay

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes





Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought