The Clickettes Meet The Fashions Various Artists (Zell Sanders)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1095

To connoisseurs of the doo wop sound, they are one of the most revered girl groups, yet the dizzy Hot 100 heights attained by such role models as the Chantels and the Bobbettes were not for them. Instead the reputation of New York’s Clickettes rests on a handful of classic sides that failed to reach the national charts at all. Spanning the years 1958 to 1962, this collection comprises the teenage group’s complete recordings for Dice Records – including two previously unissued numbers and tracks by affiliated groups the Teen-Clefs and the Avalons – plus sides cut subsequently as the Fashions. Sounding at times remarkably like Arlene Smith of the Chantels, future soul chartmaker Barbara Jean English supplies most of the lead vocals.

The Clickettes were managed by Zelma “Zell” Sanders, the owner of J & S Records, home of the Hearts, Johnnie & Joe and others. The fabled R&B matriarch had a reputation for hiring and firing her acts willy-nilly. When she signed them up in 1958, she envisaged an entire new squad of Hearts, who were already on their third incarnation, but the Bouquets didn’t like that idea. Recognising their potential, Mrs Sanders instead placed the group in the hands of her daughter, Johnnie Louise Richardson – of the duo Johnnie & Joe – on whose behalf she inaugurated a new logo, Dice. The Bouquets were accordingly renamed the Clickettes.

But Not For Me was paired with another intense ballad, I Love You, I Swear, for release as the group’s debut in October 1958. Jive Time Turkey b/w A Teenager’s First Love was rushed out just weeks later, while a third coupling, Louella and You Broke Our Hearts, was released the following month, but bearing the name the Avalons. The Clickettes’ next platter comprised two numbers waxed previously by Johnnie & Joe, Warm, Soft And Lovely and the Frankie Lymon-esque Why Oh Why. More doo wop heaven ensued with Lover’s Prayer b/w Grateful, issued by Dice in mid-1959. To Be A Part Of You and Because Of My Best Friend, released back-to-back the following January, proved to be the Clickettes’ most successful single. For live shows the group sometimes used stand-ins, one of whom was a member of another Dice outfit, the Teen-Clefs, whose single, There Goes Sputnik / Hiding My Tears (With A Smile), was released early in 1959. Almost inevitably, the Clickettes fell out with Zell Sanders and departed her stable, leaving behind two unissued recordings, That’s The Way It Is and Light A Candle.

The girls then hooked up with Chantels’ mentor Richard Some Other Guy Barrett for three singles, the first of which, Where Is He b/w The Lone Lover was released on Guyden. But the group had not been heard the last of Zell Sanders, who reappeared to claim ownership of their name, prompting Barbara and her colleagues to change theirs from the Clickettes to the Fashions. In 1961 they delivered Dearest One b/w All I Want on Warwick and Fairy Tales b/w Please Let It Be Me on the Elmor logo. A switch to Roulette marked a further change of billing to Barbara English and the Fashions, as which the group released We Need Them b/w Ta-Ta-Tee-Ta-Ta. Additional backing vocals on this disc were supplied by new manager, Arthur Crier of the Halos. A second single for the label coupled a revival of the Little Willie John/Peggy Lee classic, ‘Fever’, with the Johnny Nash-penned Bad News, following which the group disbanded.

In 1999 the ladies reunited to participate in the celebrated Great Day in Harlem photo shoot, along with many other vintage R&B vocal outfits. The success of the event prompted the group to officially re-form. Since then they have played many shows, wowing audiences of doo wop aficionados with Clickettes classics like But Not For Me, Lover’s Prayer, To Be A Part Of You and Because Of My Best Friend, consolidating their reputation as one of the best female vocal groups of their time.

by Mick Patrick


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview We Need Them - Barbara English & the Fashions

  • 02 Preview Dearest One - The Fashions

  • 03 Preview All I Want - The Fashions

  • 04 Preview Fever - Barbara English & the Fashions

  • 05 Preview But Not For Me - The Clickettes

  • 06 Preview Because Of My Best Friend - The Clickettes

  • 07 Preview Lover's Prayer - The Clickettes

  • 08 Preview A Teenager's First Love - The Clickettes

  • 09 Preview To Be A Part Of You - The Clickettes

  • 10 Preview Where Is He? - The Clickettes

  • 11 Preview Why Oh Why - The Clickettes

  • 12 Preview That's The Way It Is - The Clickettes

  • 13 Preview The Lone Lover - The Clickettes

  • 14 Preview Ta-Ta-Tee-Ta-Ta - Barbara English & the Fashions

  • 15 Preview Bad News - Barbara English & the Fashions

  • 16 Preview Please Let It Be Me - The Fashions

  • 17 Preview Fairy Tales - The Fashions

  • 18 Preview Light A Candle - The Clickettes

  • 19 Preview Warm, Soft And Lovely - The Clickettes

  • 20 Preview Grateful - The Clickettes

  • 21 Preview I Love You I Swear - The Clickettes

  • 22 Preview Hiding My Tears (With A Smile) - The Teen-Clefs

  • 23 Preview You Broke Our Hearts - The Avalons

  • 24 Preview Louella - The Avalons

  • 25 Preview Jive Time Turkey - The Clickettes

  • 26 Preview There Goes Sputnik - The Teen-Clefs

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought