The Best Of Golden Crest Various Artists (Label Stories)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCH2 1254

This product is also available in these versions:
The Best Of Golden Crest (MP3), MP3 (£15.98)

Ace Records’ link with Golden Crest dates back to 1993. That was when I travelled to picturesque Cold Spring Harbor, Long Island, to discuss a licensing deal specifically for the Wailers’ enduring hit instrumental, ‘Tall Cool One’, which duly appeared on “The Golden Age of American Rock’n’Roll, Vol 6” (CDCHD 650). Label-founder Clark Galehouse had died 10 years earlier, so his daughter Shelley came along with her trusted adviser – none other than the great but notorious Hy Weiss of Old Town Records. I couldn’t believe my “luck” in coming up against one of the sharpest and most conniving minds in the business. Eventually I ended up with two contracts: one for Ace; the other in marriage to Shelley.

Through the years Ace has released the “The Fabulous Wailers” (CDCHD 675, a classic and still a solid seller); “On The Road With Rock’n’Roll” by Mando and the Chili Peppers and “Golden Crest Instrumentals” (now deleted); plus quite a few individual tracks. Other reissue labels have licensed Golden Crest masters, from rock’n’roll, rocking instrumentals, doo wop and teen to classical.

Now, at last, we have this first-ever “The Best Of Golden Crest” collection, which draws on singles aimed primarily at the Top 100 charts in the peak rock’n’roll years from the parent label and its subsidiaries Shelley, DeWitt and Yorkshire. Out of the 48 tracks here, no less than 35 are new to Ace CD with almost half new to CD anywhere.

By virtue of its location in Huntington Station, NY, Golden Crest was well placed to trawl talent from Long Island (including Queens and Brooklyn), also New York and New Jersey. But the label made its mark when ‘Tall Cool One’ by the Wailers, from the Northwest area, hit the Top 50 charts on Billboard and Cash Box in 1959 and then again in 1964. As a result of the Wailers’ success, Galehouse tapped into other Northwest acts Clayton Watson (Lord Dent), the Mad Plaids, the Chessmen and Lola Sugia. A further wellspring of satisfying recordings in an R&B vein (but with no hits) emanated from record lady Lillian Claiborne of Washington, D.C.

So, what new-to-CD tracks are there to savour? From the Claiborne stable, try the three New Orleans R&B-influenced Calvin Ruffins and the spot-on Little Willie John soundalike Johnny Stewart with ‘Come On And Love Me’; the attitudinal ‘Bug Out’ by the Seven Teens and more teen pop from the Three Graces and the Montells; ‘Why Did You Tell Me?’ by anguished R&B’er Cartrell Dickson; the superior soul of ‘Girl’ by the Bluestyle with Carl Vanterpool; singles by jazz masters Coleman Hawkins and Carmen Leggio; the splendid bonus track, ‘New York City Blues’, by Larry Dale & his Houserockers (with Bob Gaddy and Jimmy Spruill), written by UK author/Juke Blues writer Dave Williams; and, of course, the three “new” Wailers cuts from their very first 1958 session.

To round off this double CD, there is a highly attractive booklet detailing the label’s history and featuring its innovative picture 45s and picture sleeves. For all the diversity of music genres released, Golden Crest Records was still part of the marvellous cartel of independent labels that contributed so much to the rock’n’roll era. And it shows in these 48 tall cool ones.

By John Broven


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Tall Cool One - The Wailers

  • 02 Preview Dirty Robber - The Wailers

  • 03 Preview Wolf Call - Lord Dent & His Invaders

  • 04 Preview Blood Rare - The Mad Plaids

  • 05 Preview South Of The Border - Mando & The Chili Peppers

  • 06 Preview I'm Buggin' Out, Little Baby - Donny Lee Moore

  • 07 Preview Suzzane - Ricky & Robby

  • 08 Preview Purple Pedal Pushers - Ricky & Robby

  • 09 Preview Mau-Mau - The Wailers

  • 10 Preview Hurry, Hurry - Calvin (Hound Dog) Ruffin & His Combo

  • 11 Preview My Little Home On The Range - Calvin (Hound Dog) Ruffin & His Combo

  • 12 Preview Come On And Love Me - Johnny Stewart

  • 13 Preview Loretta - The Senators

  • 14 Preview Poor Little Puppet - The Senators

  • 15 Preview What's On Your Mind - The Four Bars

  • 16 Preview Mary Don't You Weep - The Delights

  • 17 Preview Pigmy - Baby Sticks & The Kingtones

  • 18 Preview Bug Out - The Seven Teens

  • 19 Preview Oh Happy Day - Stephanie & The Gothics

  • 20 Preview Billy Boy's Tune (Billy Boy's Funeral March) - The Three Graces

  • 21 Preview 7 L - The Three Graces

  • 22 Preview Tight Spot - Paul & The Four-Most

  • 23 Preview Hey! Travelin' Man - Dick Heatherton

  • 24 Preview Toy Balloons - The Oxfords featuring Billy Mure

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Altar Of Dreams - Gino & The Dells

  • 02 Preview Bells Bells - The Chessmen

  • 03 Preview Someone To Watch Over Me - The Precisions

  • 04 Preview Close Your Eyes - The Wailers

  • 05 Preview Congo Mombo - Mando & The Chili Peppers

  • 06 Preview Ragdoll Baby - Paul Griffin

  • 07 Preview Sarah Lee - Prince Jesse

  • 08 Preview I'm Gonna Miss You - Calvin (Hound Dog) Ruffin & His Combo

  • 09 Preview Money Crazy - Roland Bennett & The Rockin' Whalers

  • 10 Preview Why Didn't You Tell Me? - Cartrell Dickson

  • 11 Preview A Whole Lot Of Lovin' - Johnny Stewart

  • 12 Preview Terock - Rhythm Rockers

  • 13 Preview Blue Tears - Lola Sugia

  • 14 Preview Cut-Out - Paul & The Four-Most

  • 15 Preview It's Only A Paper Moon - Gino

  • 16 Preview A Rang A Lang Lang - The Montells

  • 17 Preview Girl - The Bluestyle with Carl Vanterpool

  • 18 Preview Hand Clappin' Time - Gino with Johnny Greek

  • 19 Preview Linda Lu - Augie Rios with Johnny Greek

  • 20 Preview Newport Riot - Carmen Leggio

  • 21 Preview Black Velvet - Coleman Hawkins with Don Redman Orchestra

  • 22 Preview High Wall - The Wailers

  • 23 Preview Scotch On The Rocks (Tall Cool One) - The Wailers

  • 24 Preview New York City Blues - Larry Dale & The Houserockers

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought