Matchbox Days Various Artists (Label Stories)


Big Beat
Catalogue Id:

British blues boomed in the late-1960s, but like most waves of change in music what seemed like an overnight manifestation had been brewing for sometime - in fact from as far back as the late 50s as lan Anderson would claim. but the editor of Folk Roots Magazine wasn't just a witness to this musical-evolution, he was very much a central exponent and though this period in British music is centred on electric bands, Anderson's compilation Matchbox Days focuses on the strong acoustic blues scene which developed side-by-side labels such as Origin started a reissue programme using tracks from as far back as the 1920s and 30s, bringing the old gems back into the limelight for a new generation of musicians to rediscover.

In early 1968, along with a fellow blues man Mike Cooper, Anderson approached a local record label Saydisc with a proposal to start a blues label called Matchbox. The first Matchbox LP Blues Like Showers Of Rain, appeared several months later, and contained music from British blues artists such as Dave Kelly and (big sister) Jo-Ann Kelly, Simon Preager and Steve Rye amongst many others. John Peel picked up on this early on, and gave the LP plenty of airtime. Melody Maker also had its part to play, dedicating a considerable amount of column inches to the blues revival. The rest of the press and radio? Well, they followed on soon after, as festivals and conventions popped up all over the place, National steel guitars became in vogue, shooting up in price, and lo'n'behold a thriving blues community was born. Its popularity was short-lived and, as the 60s drew to a close, the blues revival waned as rapidly as it had fired up, leaving behind a generous injection of the bloodstream of musicians and styles which followed. The Matchbox label released a second volume of Blues Like Showers Of Rain and another LP called The Inverted World. This 22-tracker contains the best of the label's catalogue and also includes tracks from lan Anderson's Saydisc EP Almost The Country Blues, all hand picked by the man himself. Anderson also provides vivid commentary in the sleevenotes for those who weren't there the first time round.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Bulldog Blues - Mike Cooper

  • 02 Preview A Few Short Lines - Dave Kelly

  • 03 Preview Say No To The Devil - Simon Prager & Steve Rye

  • 04 Preview Nothin' In Ramblin' - Jo-Ann Kelly

  • 05 Preview Cottonfield Blues - Ian Anderson

  • 06 Preview Whitewash Station Blues - The Panama Limited Jug Band

  • 07 Preview Searchin' The Desert For The Blues - Al Jones

  • 08 Preview Dark Road Blues - The Missouri Compromise

  • 09 Preview Spoonful - Wizz Jones

  • 10 Preview Meeting House Rag - Mike Cooper

  • 11 Preview Blues Walking Like A Man - Dave Kelly

  • 12 Preview Stop Breaking Down Blues - Prager, Rye & Hall

  • 13 Preview Rowdy Blues - Ian Anderson

  • 14 Preview Wildcat Squall - The Panama Limited Jug Band

  • 15 Preview Travellin' Blues - Dave Kelly

  • 16 Preview Bread Of Heaven - Steve Rye

  • 17 Preview Black Snake Blues - Mike Cooper

  • 18 Preview Cocaine Habit - The Panama Limited Jug Band

  • 19 Preview Friday Evening Blues - Ian Anderson

  • 20 Preview If I Had Possession Over Judgement Day - The Missouri Compromise

  • 21 Preview Black Mary - Jo-Ann Kelly

  • 22 Preview The Inverted World - Mike Cooper & Ian Anderson

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought