The Baton Label: Sol's Story Various Artists (Label Stories)


Rhythm & Blues
Ace Records
Catalogue Id:

One of New York's best 50s R&B labels featuring great performances by Ann Cole, the Hearts and the Rivileers.


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview A Thousand Stars - The Rivileers

  • 02 Preview Lonely Nights - The Hearts

  • 03 Preview (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons - The Rivileers

  • 04 Preview The Things I Love - The Fidelity's

  • 05 Preview Got My Mojo Working - Ann Cole

  • 06 Preview Oo-Wee - The Hearts

  • 07 Preview Pepper Hot Baby - The Belvederes

  • 08 Preview I Thought I Told You Not To Tell Them - Marie Knight

  • 09 Preview Easy Easy Baby - Ann Cole

  • 10 Preview My Tearful Heart - Ann Cole

  • 11 Preview Each Day - Ann Cole

  • 12 Preview T V Baby - The Suburbans

  • 13 Preview No Star Is Lost - Ann Cole

  • 14 Preview You're Mine - Ann Cole

  • 15 Preview I've Got Nothing Working Now (But My Real Old Fashioned Love) - Ann Cole

  • 16 Preview I Remember - The Suburbans

  • 17 Preview Will You Ever Say You're Mine - The Mello-Maids

  • 18 Preview Careless Love - The Pilgrims

  • 19 Preview I Remember, Dear - The Mello-Maids

  • 20 Preview We Two - The Belvederes

  • 21 Preview Until The Real Thing Comes Along - The Hearts

  • 22 Preview Are You Satisfied - Ann Cole

  • 23 Preview Gone, Gone, Gone - The Hearts

  • 24 Preview My Wish - The Lonely Ones

  • 25 Preview Deep Down Inside - The Rivileers

  • 26 Preview I Told Them - The Suburbans

  • 27 Preview The Clock Of Love - Ann Cole

  • 28 Preview Hard Times (The Slop) - Noble "Thin Man" Watts & His Rhythm Sparks

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


An excellent collection.

Now Dig This

I cannot recommend this album highly enough - from the excellent sound quality, to the informative notes, and generous playing time. An absolute cracker!

Blues & Rhythm

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought