The Ace Story Volume 4 Various Artists (Ace Mississippi)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1337

The five original volumes of “The Ace (MS) Story” were part of the backbone of our catalogue during our early days. They disappeared for a long while after our licensing agreement with Johnny Vincent expired, but we were delighted to restore three of the original five to catalogue in 2010 and 2011. Judging by their sales figures, we were not the only ones to be delighted.

This fourth volume more than matches the quality of the first three. Some of its inclusions are among the rarest singles on any of Vincent’s labels. The advent of eBay and GEMM might have made some of them a little more accessible than they used to be, but the tracks by Johnny Angel, Dicky Williams, Albert Scott and Jesse Allen still command high prices. Among the less rare (but no less good) sides are seldom reissued cuts by New Orleans mainstays Huey Smith, Alvin “Red” Tyler and Eddie Bo, as well as no less than three classic Joe Tex cuts in best-ever sound!

As with previous volumes in this series, the original 16 tracks of the vinyl edition have been augmented by eight other gems from Vincent’s vaults. These include Ace’s debut release (and the original of Little Richard’s ‘Slippin’ And Slidin’’), Al Collins’ ‘I Got The Blues For You’ and the label’s first-ever hit in Earl King’s ‘Those Lonely, Lonely Nights’. Collectors will also be thrilled to hear Huey Smith’s ‘Don’t You Know Yockomo’ at the same speed as the vinyl 45 for the first time on CD and the single master of Bobby Marchan’s ‘You Can’t Stop Her’ from a recently located tape source. In fact, all but three of these tracks are appearing here from transfers of the original tapes, some of which have only previously appeared from second or third-generation copy tapes. Great music in its greatest ever fidelity – what’s not to love?

The original vinyl series concluded with a fifth volume, the expanded version of which should be with you towards the end of this year. The good news is that the CD series will be extended to incorporate a sixth and final volume containing rarities and unissued material that was not available to the compilers of the original vinyl series. Betcha can’t wait for that!

By Tony Rounce


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Teen-Age Wedding - Johnny Angel

  • 02 Preview Tee-Na-Na - Dicky Williams

  • 03 Preview Walk On - Alvin "Red" Tyler

  • 04 Preview I Wanna Know Why - Roland Cook

  • 05 Preview Wherever You May Be - Joe & Ann

  • 06 Preview Free, Single And Disengaged - Huey Smith & His Clowns

  • 07 Preview Goodbye Blues - Jesse Allen

  • 08 Preview Charlie Brown Got Expelled - Joe Tex & His X Class Mates

  • 09 Preview Scald-Dog - Huey Smith

  • 10 Preview Happy Sax aka Stinky - Alvin "Red" Tyler

  • 11 Preview Can I Have A Word - Floyd Brown

  • 12 Preview Can't Let You Go I Love You So - Albert Scott

  • 13 Preview Yum, Yum, Yum - Joe Tex

  • 14 Preview Mother's Advice - Joe Tex

  • 15 Preview I'll Keep On Trying - Eddie Bo

  • 16 Preview Walking With Frankie - Frankie Lee Sims

  • 17 Preview I Got The Blues For You - Al Collins & Orchestra

  • 18 Preview You Can't Stop Her - Bobby Marchan & The Clowns

  • 19 Preview I Think You Jiving Me - Huey & Jerry

  • 20 Preview Those Lonely, Lonely Nights - Earl King featuring Fats on piano

  • 21 Preview My Love Is Here To Stay - Sammy Myers with The King Mose Royal Rockers

  • 22 Preview Aw! Who? - Bat Carroll

  • 23 Preview Well-o Well-o Well-o Baby - Earl King featuring Huey Smith on piano

  • 24 Preview Don't You Know Yockomo - Huey "Piano" Smith & His Clowns

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought