Stax Of Funk Vol 2: More Funky Truth Various Artists (Stax)


Catalogue Id:
BGP2 150

This product is also available in these versions:
Stax Of Funk Vol. 2: More Funky Truth, CD (£12.56)

Every one of us has a favourite record label. I think for many of us at Ace towers, Stax is pretty much at the top of the pile. The independently owned Memphis label recorded soul for 15 years, both up-tempo and impassionately down. It scored hits in the USA and around the world and gave the world the iconic star quality of both Otis Redding and Isaac Hayes to name but two of its finest. The roll call beyond them is legendary and could take up a whole sleeve note but Booker T and the MGs, Johnnie Taylor, Rufus and Carla Thomas, Sam and Dave, the Bar Kays, William Bell and the Staple Singers all made the label known to fans of good music the world over. But we're record collectors, vinyl extremists and, maybe the odd anorak has an involvement as well, so what really gets us going are the obscurities, the ones that got away. Stax Of Funk 2 could be a tribute to that sort of record.

Our first BGP Stax Of Funk gathered up fine reviews and good sales as people discovered that it wasn't just one man operations out of Texas that released great funk. Volume 2 finds us resuming our search for more and what do you know we've come up trumps. Not only that but we have proved this time what a wide spectrum of sounds the funky part of the world encompasses. Most pleasing to my ears are a couple of tracks that are clearly influenced by the pop funk of the Honeycone and the Jackson 5 - the cuts by the Emotions and the Sweet Inspirations. But we cover virtually all points on the funk compass. We have blues funk from Albert King and Jimmy McCracklin. We have proto disco grooves from Sir Mack Rice, the blaxploitation exploits of the Bar Kays and the non blaxploitation film theme from the Staple Singers' Brand New Day written by Al Kooper. Oh and yes we have an unreleased and very funky Rufus Thomas number called Doin' The Side Saddle. 

On top of this we have a whole load of hard core down and heavy funk. Lee Sain's Them Hot Pants, Shame On The Family Name by Calvin Scott, Bernie Hayes' mighty Cool Strut are all sure fire floor fillers whether you are a DJ or just playing a CD in your front room. And whilst we are at it we've got Reggie Milner's Soul Machine which shares its backing track with Tick Tock Baby by Quickest Way Out on the Karen label; that's a great record but Reggie is even better. So this is the Memphis Sound, only the funkiest Memphis sound you will ever hear. 

By Dean Rudland


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Shame On The Family Name - Calvin Scott

  • 02 Preview Cool Strut Part 1 - Bernie Hayes

  • 03 Preview Soul Machine - Reggie Milner

  • 04 Preview Bump Meat - Sir Mack Rice

  • 05 Preview Got It Together (Parts 1 & 2) - Rudy Robinson & The Hungry Five

  • 06 Preview Big Leg Woman (With A Short Short Mini Skirt) - Israel "Popper Stopper" Tolbert with the C.A Warren Players

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Dirty Tricks - The Sweet Inspirations

  • 02 Preview How Can You Mistreat The One You Love - Katie Love

  • 03 Preview From Toys To Boys - The Emotions

  • 04 Preview Circuits Overloaded - Inez Foxx

  • 05 Preview Brand New Day (Theme From The United Artists Motion Picture 'The Landlord') - The Staple Singers

Side 3

  • 01 Preview Cold Blooded - The Bar-Kays

  • 02 Preview Talking To The People - Black Nasty

  • 03 Preview Bump And Boogie - The Wrecking Crew

  • 04 Preview Dark Skin Woman - Sir Mack Rice

  • 05 Preview Ain't No Sin (To Have Fun) - John KaSandra

Side 4

  • 01 Preview Do The Side Saddle - Rufus Thomas

  • 02 Preview (Stay Away From That) Monkey - Jimmy McCracklin

  • 03 Preview Crosscut Saw - Albert King

  • 04 Preview Them Hot Pants (Part 1) - Lee Sain

  • 05 Preview Devil In A Man - Stu Gardner

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought