A Van McCoy Songbook - The Sweetest Feeling Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


60s Soul
Catalogue Id:

The songs of Van McCoy have been part of the soundtrack to our lives for more than 50 years. He became a hit artist in his own right in the mid-70s, thanks to ‘The Hustle’, but it’s his creativity as a composer and producer in the previous decade that has long beguiled fans of soul music. One of the most universally-admired figures in soul history, McCoy has long been overdue an appearance in our songwriter series. “The Sweetest Feeling” affords him the kind of salute that a talent of his stature truly deserves.

Van McCoy was encouraged from an early age by his parents to be a good student and musician in equal measure. The McCoys were a churchgoing family and Van enjoyed being part of the local choir, almost as much as he enjoyed making use of the family piano, often accompanied by his older brother Norman on violin. By their mid-teens the brothers were smitten by doo wop and with two friends formed the Starlighters. In 1961 Van wrote and produced his debut solo single, ‘Mr DJ’. Released on his own Rock’n label with national distribution by Scepter Records, it didn’t quite chart, but Scepter boss Florence Greenberg was an astute judge of talent and was quick to hire Van as a staff songwriter and producer. He was on his way.

Over the next 18 years, this musical genius was responsible for some of the greatest recordings of all time. It’s unlikely that there’s anyone out there with even a passing interest in American music of the 60s and 70s who doesn’t have some cherished examples of his work in their collection. Spanning the years 1962 to 1973, this collection offers a spellbinding cross-section of sumptuous ballads, uptown and big city soul classics, chart smashes and a few tried and trusted Northern soul favourites. Featured artists such as Jackie Wilson, Gladys Knight & the Pips, Erma Franklin, Nina Simone, Aretha Franklin, Jerry Butler, Esther Phillips, Irma Thomas and Chuck Jackson show that McCoy’s songs were invariably given the VIP treatment by the biggest stars in the soul firmament.

Van McCoy was only 39 when he died in 1979, leaving a catalogue of material that was as excellent as it was abundant. Very few soul songwriters have ever matched quality and quantity to quite the same lasting effect. There are too many wonderful Van McCoy songs to fit on a single CD, but we hope that this one provides enough of a cross-section of his best work to inspire everyone who buys it to dig deeper into his vast catalogue. There’s music here that will delight fans of both up-tempo and down-tempo soul, and those who favour the former should note that a second volume that will focus on Van’s Northern soul favourites is planned. Meanwhile, the 24 songs featured on “The Sweetest Feeling” offer full proof of his songwriting talents and will leave everyone eager for more.



Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview I Get The Sweetest Feeling - Erma Franklin

  • 02 Preview I've Lost You - Jackie Wilson

  • 03 Preview For You - The Spellbinders

  • 04 Preview Getting Mighty Crowded - Betty Everett

  • 05 Preview When You're Young And In Love - Ruby & The Romantics

  • 06 Preview Either Way I Lose - Nina Simone

  • 07 Preview Baby I'm Yours - Barbara Lewis

  • 08 Preview Who's Gonna Pick Up The Pieces - Chuck Jackson

  • 09 Preview Some Things You Never Get Used To - Little Esther Phillips

  • 10 Preview I Can't Stand To See You Cry - Jerry Butler

  • 11 Preview The Way To A Woman's Heart - Billy T Soul

  • 12 Preview Why Don't You Love Me - Teri Thornton

  • 13 Preview Stop And Get A Hold Of Myself - Gladys Knight & The Pips

  • 14 Preview It's Starting To Get To Me Now - Irma Thomas

  • 15 Preview Where Does That Leave Me - Nancy Wilson

  • 16 Preview The Spoiler - Oscar Weathers

  • 17 Preview Where Would You Be Today - Ilana

  • 18 Preview So Soon - Aretha Franklin

  • 19 Preview Giving Up - Donny Hathaway

  • 20 Preview Let Me Down Easy - G.C. Cameron

  • 21 Preview Nothing Worse Than Being Alone - The Ad Libs

  • 22 Preview Stay A While With Me - Sharon Ridley

  • 23 Preview A Love You Can Depend On - Brenda & The Tabulations

  • 24 Preview Lean On Me - Melba Moore

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at orders@acerecords.com ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: orders@acerecords.com ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: orders@acerecords.com including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes


A wonderful compilation...soul compilations rarely get better than this. ★★★★

Record Collector

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought