Something Good From The Goffin & King Songbook Various Artists (Songwriter Series)


Ace Records
Catalogue Id:
CDCHD 1327

A new volume in Ace’s Songwriters series is always a cause for celebration, and all the more so when the writers concerned are Gerry Goffin and Carole King. As arguably the greatest of the so-called Brill Building teams, their catalogue is unmatched in its quality and hit-rate. No songwriters of the era articulated the emotions of adolescence and the pains of teen-dom with quite the same mix of innocence and sophistication of Goffin and King; they were, after all, still teenagers themselves when they were crafting much of this material, so were experiencing the same emotions as their audience. Even so, you might think that, this being Ace’s third collection of their compositions, the well of hits might have run dry. But then “Something Good” opens with the Drifters’ joyous ‘At The Club’ (the superior and rarely heard single version) and you know that once again Mick Patrick and Tony Rounce have served up another peerless compilation of classics, near misses and lost obscurities.

You’ll find hits aplenty on “Something Good”, including essential recordings from the Chiffons (‘One Fine Day’), the Byrds (‘Goin’ Back’) and the Cookies (‘Don’t Say Nothin’ Bad (About My Baby)’). But, as is their way, the compilers have again taken the path less travelled, usually plumping for a more obscure interpretation (or, more often, an earlier recording) of a catalogue favourite. Thus we get Bunny Sigler’s version of ‘Will You Love Me Tomorrow’ over the Shirelles’, ‘The Loco-Motion’ interpreted by Dee Dee Sharp rather than Little Eva, and a version of ‘It Might As Well Rain Until September’ from Bobby Vee instead of Carole’s own take. Whether this is by design isn’t clear (or particularly relevant), but boy, it ain’t half refreshing.

Revelations also come thick and fast. Bobby Goldsboro’s warm, optimistic ballad ‘The Time For Us’ is new to me, and is the only known recording of this number. At the other end of the spectrum is the Eccentric’s’ (that’s not a typo!) ‘What You Got’, a snotty, clangourous freakbeat gem apparently modelled very closely on Carole’s original demo. She could turn her hand to anything, it seems. And it’s always a joy – though one tinged with melancholy – to hear Lesley Gore’s ‘The Old Crowd’, a vibrant yet achingly wistful rumination on lost youth, and for me as good as anything Gerry & Carole wrote.

The sleeve notes tell the story behind each recording, and the booklet is brimful with the kind of photos and details you come to expect from Ace. The CD’s strapline indicates that this third instalment of the Goffin & King songbook might just be the best one yet. Who am I to argue?

By Harvey Williams


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview At The Club (Mono single mix) - The Drifters

  • 02 Preview One Fine Day - The Chiffons

  • 03 Preview I'm Into Something Good - Earl-Jean

  • 04 Preview Hey Girl - Freddie Scott

  • 05 Preview Goin' Back - The Byrds

  • 06 Preview The Right To Cry - Lenny Welch

  • 07 Preview You're My Girl - The Tokens

  • 08 Preview I'd Never Find Another You - Billy Fury

  • 09 Preview The Time For Us - Bobby Goldsboro

  • 10 Preview Soul Waltzin' - Big Dee Irwin

  • 11 Preview Down Home - Rick Nelson

  • 12 Preview Easy To Love (So Hard To Get) - Skeeter Davis

  • 13 Preview I Don't Think You Know Me - The American Breed

  • 14 Preview Will You Love Me Tomorrow - Bunny Sigler

  • 15 Preview Sweet Young Thing - The Monkees

  • 16 Preview What You Got - The Eccentrics

  • 17 Preview Talkin' About You - Tony Orlando

  • 18 Preview Some Kinda Wonderful - Little Eva

  • 19 Preview You're My Inspiration - The Mad Lads

  • 20 Preview Don't Say Nothin' Bad (About My Baby) - The Cookies

  • 21 Preview It Might As Well Rain Until September - Bobby Vee

  • 22 Preview Chains - The Everly Brothers

  • 23 Preview The Old Crowd - Lesley Gore

  • 24 Preview Can't Stop Talking About You - Tobin Matthews

  • 25 Preview The Loco-Motion - Dee Dee Sharp

  • 26 Preview Take Good Care Of My Baby - Dion

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought