Sing Me A Rainbow: A Trident Anthology 1965-1967 Various Artists (Label Stories)


Psych / Garage
Big Beat
Catalogue Id:
CDWIK2 283

This product is also available in these versions:
Sing Me A Rainbow: A Trident Anthology 1965-1967 (MP3), MP3 (£15.98)

Previous volumes in the Nuggets From The Golden State series devoted to the late Frank Werber’s Trident Productions have been enthusiastically received, and Big Beat is proud to issue the best of the rest in this double CD package, “Sing Me A Rainbow: A Trident Anthology 1965-67”.

Werber formed Trident Productions in 1964 and dissolved it in late 1967. As manager and ‘fourth member’ of the incredibly successful Kingston Trio, he had taken the act’s profits and invested them on their behalf in a range of intellectual properties, such as publishing, and physical ones, such as the Trident Restaurant in Sausalito and, most significantly, the flat iron Columbus Tower building in San Francisco’s North Beach district. With the production company, Werber wanted to apply his proven management abilities to a new wave of artists, but he didn’t bargain with how different, and contrary, that next generation might be. Based as it was in the San Francisco of the mid-1960s, Trident was at once in the vanguard of rock’s next phase, and a victim of it. The organization only foundered because, after ten years at the top of his profession, the man driving the whole shebang didn’t want to play the game anymore.

Based on a thorough investigation of his catalogue, this collection documents Werber’s attempts to create a Brill Building-like production line of writers, producers and acts, though focused on the new folk-rock San Francisco sound. His flagship artist in this regard was the hugely popular We Five, and the comp includes rare mono single and album mixes not previously on CD. Cuts by the Mystery Trend, Sons Of Champlin and Blackburn & Snow are also previously unissued rarities that are not featured on their respective anthologies.

Werber believed in nurturing his handpicked acts, and we have included his best examples here, such as the Justice League, the San Franciscans, the Front Line and the Tricycle. Outside of We Five, none of Trident’s acts had any success. Yet, although Sing Me A Rainbow contains 95% unissued material, it is a surprisingly strong and accomplished set of folk rock, pop and garage band sounds with a San Francisco flavour. There is also a rare folk rock experiment by Kingston Trio member John Stewart and selected demos by hopefuls who auditioned for Trident, including Thorinshield, The All Nite Flight and The New Tweedy Brothers.

By Alec Palao


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview You Were On My Mind - We Five

  • 02 Preview Leave Me Alone - John Stewart & Randy Steirling

  • 03 Preview Need You No More - The Front Line

  • 04 Preview I Love You So - The San Franciscans

  • 05 Preview Stranger In A Strange Land (Demo) - Blackburn And Snow

  • 06 Preview She's Mine - The Herb Jackson Group

  • 07 Preview I Don't Care - The Front Line

  • 08 Preview If You Lie - The San Franciscans

  • 09 Preview You Let A Love Burn Out - We Five

  • 10 Preview Got Love - The Front Line

  • 11 Preview Green Monday - Randy Steirling

  • 12 Preview It's So Hard (Alt) - Blackburn And Snow

  • 13 Preview Love Me Not Tomorrow - The Justice League

  • 14 Preview Five Will Get You Ten - We Five

  • 15 Preview Brave New World - Thorinshield

  • 16 Preview Places I've Been - Randy Steirling

  • 17 Preview Carrots On A String (Alt) - The Mystery Trend

  • 18 Preview I'll Make You Happy - Frank May

  • 19 Preview I Really Want You - The Justice League

  • 20 Preview Sing Me A Rainbow (Alt vocal) - The Sons Of Champlin

  • 21 Preview Letters - The New Tweedy Brothers

  • 22 Preview MGM Verve Presentation: Green Monday/Sing Me A Rainbow/Fat City/I'll Cry Instead/Sure Or Sorry/House On A Hill/Johnny Was A Good Boy/Wednesday - Eighth/Favela - Various

Side 2

  • 01 Preview Stranger In A Strange Land - Blackburn And Snow

  • 02 Preview There Stands The Door - We Five

  • 03 Preview Time - The New Tweedy Brothers

  • 04 Preview Johnny Was A Good Boy - The Mystery Trend

  • 05 Preview Thinkin' It Over - The Justice League

  • 06 Preview Wrong My Friend - Thorinshield

  • 07 Preview Here I Stand - The All Nite Flight

  • 08 Preview What's Goin' On - We Five

  • 09 Preview This Time - Ron Davies

  • 10 Preview Mambo For Marion (Ref vocal) - The Mystery Trend

  • 11 Preview Can't Get Over How You Left Me - The Justice League

  • 12 Preview Go And Hide - The Sons Of Champlin

  • 13 Preview All The Time - The Tricycle

  • 14 Preview Pleasant Avenue - Ron Davies

  • 15 Preview Not A Single Word - The Tricycle

  • 16 Preview She's On My Mind - The Crystal Set

  • 17 Preview Time - Blackburn And Snow

  • 18 Preview 61 Clay - Ron Nagle

  • 19 Preview Peaceful Times - The Crystal Set

  • 20 Preview Somewhere - The Tricycle

  • 21 Preview See More Tomorrow (Backing track) - Blackburn And Snow

  • 22 Preview Shades Of Grey (Alt backing track) - The Sons Of Champlin

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Press quotes




Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought