Shrine: The Rarest Soul Label Various Artists (Shrine Records)


Northern Soul
Catalogue Id:

This product is also available in these versions:
Shrine: The Rarest Soul Label (MP3), MP3 (£7.99)

I first became aware of the Shrine label in the mid-80s when I heard Eddie Daye's Guess Who Loves You played at Stafford's Top Of The World all-nighter and immediately fell in love with its crashing crescendos of vibes, brass, backing vocals and cowbells. It was one of those records that you put on again and again when you first acquire it. Sadly for me, even in those pre-children days, it was a badly pleaded-for cassette tape that was getting hammered, the cost of the original vinyl was already into three figures and out of my price range.

I learnt that there were more good releases on the label which had already achieved cult status among the "Newies" (as opposed to "Oldies") aficionados who saw Stafford as their manor. I think I initially rejected J D Bryant's I Won't Be Coming Back as the great record it is because it was different from most of the Northern records I cherished and the DJ who was playing it was arrogant, self-serving and five times more popular than I was.

No such problems arose with the big records from Les Chansonettes, The Cairos, Ray Pollard, The Enjoyables or Shirley Edwards and by the time I got hold of my own copy of The Cautions' stormer No Other Way, I was championing the Shrine sound like I'd discovered it!

Some intriguing articles in the "Shades of Soul" fanzine served to whet my appetite even further and when legendary Northern DJ and record producer Ian Levine told me that Eddie Singleton, the original label owner, was in town and would be happy to lease his records, I was there.

Eddie turned out to be friendly, charming, courteous and honourable and his involvement in, and knowledge of, the record industry is worthy of a book in its own right.

In a nutshell, Horace's Records issued two Shrine LPs - several new tapes came to light, some of which were unissued, others eventually turning up on super-rare 45s.

DJ and collector Andy Rix managed to achieve the impossible in collecting every Shrine release, including one that was the only known copy of The Counts' Peaches Baby, which arrived in five separate pieces.

Andy and Eddie's relationship developed to such an extent that Eddie now sees Andy as the keeper of the Shrine flame (see the label) and it is his research and perseverance that has made Kent's newest CD a) possible and b) so good.

PS: The story includes Raynoma Gordy, the co-founder of Motown, Jackie Wilson, the Brill Building and singles worth £5000+.

by Ady Croasdell


Track listing


Side 1

  • 01 Preview Stop Overlooking Me - The Cairos

  • 02 Preview Guess Who Loves You - Eddie Daye & The 4 Bars

  • 03 Preview Don' t Let Him Hurt You - Les Chansonettes

  • 04 Preview I Won' t Believe It Till I See It - Little Bobby Parker

  • 05 Preview Watch Your Step - The Cautions

  • 06 Preview I'm So Devoted - The Epsilons

  • 07 Preview Hush Baby - The Prophets

  • 08 Preview Wait Till I Get There - Tippie & The Wisemen

  • 09 Preview I Won't Be Coming Back - J.D. Bryant

  • 10 Preview Mind In A Bind - The Epsilons

  • 11 Preview Do What I Want - The Cavaliers

  • 12 Preview I'll Never Let You Get Away - Bill Dennis

  • 13 Preview I'll Take You Back - The Enjoyables

  • 14 Preview No More Like Me - Ray Pollard

  • 15 Preview Take It From Me - Traci

  • 16 Preview I Know About Her - The D.C. Blossoms

  • 17 Preview Dream My Heart - Shirley Edwards

  • 18 Preview My Only Love - The Counts

  • 19 Preview Fall Guy - The Cautions

  • 20 Preview Mystery - Jimmy Armstrong

  • 21 Preview The Weekend - Sidney Hall

  • 22 Preview I'll Understand - Leroy Taylor & The Four Kays

  • 23 Preview She Went Away - Linda & The Vistas

  • 24 Preview Let Me Walk Away - Tippie & The Wisemen

Delivery & Returns


We offer free P&P to UK addresses. For all other territories packaging is free and postage is charged on a weight basis.

We use Royal Mail First Class for UK deliveries and standard Air Mail for all other territories, very large orders will usually be sent via parcelforce. You may cancel your order at any time prior to your order being dispatched by emailing us at ensuring that you quote your name, address and order reference number or by telephoning +44 (0) 208 453 1311 between 9am and 5pm GMT/BST, Monday to Friday. Please note: As music downloads are dispatched immediately after purchase, there is no possibility of cancelling these orders.

In the event that any products supplied to you by us are damaged or defective, we agree to replace or repair the damaged or defective products or refund the amount you paid for such goods (including postage & packaging) providing you notify us (either via post at or e-mail: ) and return the goods within 28 days of purchase. Physical goods should be sent back to us in the same condition you received them to: “Returns” Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the e-mail address above including a copy of your notification.

You have the right to cancel your order within seven days of purchase, or seven days of receipt of the goods (whichever is the longer). If you choose to cancel your order, full payment will be returned to you. Returned items should be sent to: “Returns” c/o Ace Records, Such Close, Letchworth Garden City SG6 1JF, United Kingdom. Music downloads should be returned to us via the email address: including a copy of your notice of cancellation and order number.

Customer reviews


Related products

Customers who bought this item also bought